Parliament, Constitution will be Safeguarded at All Costs: Reza

Parliament, Constitution will be Safeguarded at All Costs: Reza

Islamabad (July 17, 2017): The 264th session of the Senate started at the Parliament House in Islamabad Monday afternoon with Chairman Mian Raza Rabbani in the chair.

The chair announced panel of the presiding Officers for the current session. It includes Muzaffar Hussain Shah, Muhammad Mohsin Khan Leghari and Sitara Ayaz.

At the outset of the proceedings, the house offered Fateha for late Senator Agha Shahbaz Khan Durrani and those martyred in the terrorist incidents in different parts of the country and killed in the oil tanker incident in Ahmedpur Sharqia.

The Senate today passed a condolence resolution expressing deep grief and sorrow over the sad demise of a sitting Senator Agha Shahbaz Khan Durrani.The resolution moved by Leader of the House Raja Zafar-ul-Haq stated that the house has lost a young and dynamic senator. It said that late Agha Shahbaz Khan Durrani worked for strengthening democracy in the country and always raised voice for the neglected segments of the society. It said that we stand by the bereaved family and share the loss sustained by his family.

The senators through the resolution prayed for infinite blessing upon the departed soul.

Agha Shahbaz Khan Durrani was elected from Balochistan province on the seat of technocrats and Ulema in 2015.

Agha Shahbaz Khan Durrani passed away on 25th of the last month.A condolence reference was also held on Monday in the house in memory of the late Senator Agha Shahbaz Khan Durrani.

Speaking on the occasion, the Senators said that Agha Shahbaz Khan Durrani was a man of commitment who actively participated in the legislative business of the house.

They said that his services for upper house and strengthening the parliament will be remembered for long time.Those who spoke on the occasion include Leader of the Opposition Aitzaz Ahsan, Arshad Swati, Siraj ul Haq, Tahir Hussain Mashhadi, Saeed Mandokhel, Hafiz Hamdullah, Nawabzada Saifullah Magsi, Muhammad Usman Khan Kakar, Sardar Azam, Attique Shaikh, Sehar Kamran, Tanvir ul Haq Thanvi, Rubina Irfan, Nighat Mirza, Chaudhary Tanvir, Kalsoom Parveen, Saleem Zia, Taj Haider, Parvez Rashid, Mukhtar Ahmad Damara, Shahi Sayed, Mohsin Leghari, M Hamza, Saud Majeed, Mohsin Aziz, Nisar Muhammad, Saleem H Mandviwala, Rehman Malik, Mushahid Ullah Khan and Nuzhat Sadiq.

In his concluding remarks the Chairman said that Agha Shahbaz Khan Durrani was a humble and soft spoken person. He said that his death is a great loss for the Senate and the people of the country and his province Balochistan.He said it is day to renew the pledge that democratic norms and system, parliament and the constitution will be safeguarded at all costs.

The house will now meet on Wednesday at three in the afternoon.

Related News:

Senate Discusses Climate Change, One Bill Passed, Two Tabled

NA to Discuss Senate Recommendation on Budget Today

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top