LHC Rejects Petitions Against Kulsoom Nawaz Candidature

LHC Rejects Petitions Against Kulsoom Nawaz Candidature

Lahore (September 7, 2017): The Lahore High Court (LHC) on Thursday rejected petitions challenging acceptance of PML-N candidate Begum Kulsoom Nawaz nomination papers for the NA-120 by-election.

A three members bench of LHC announced its verdicts after hearing arguments of counsels of petitioners and respondents.

Click Play Button to Watch this Video 

The decision to rejects the set of petition challenging the decision to accept Kulsoom Nawaz nomination papers was given with majority.

Two judges of the bench threw out the petitions while the other members dissented the majority decision.The bench was headed by Justice Aminuddin Khan, Justice Ibadur Rehman Lodhi and Justice Shahid Jameel as members.

This was the third bench constituted by the Chief Jsutice LHC to hear the petitions filed by PPP candidate Amir Mir against the acceptance of nomination papers of Kulsoom Nawaz after two previous benches were dissolved following refusal of members to hear the case.PPP candidate Faisal Mir, Advocate Ishtiaq Ahmad Chaudhry of the Pakistan Awami Tehreek (PAT) and Nabeel Shahzad of the Milli Muslim League (MML) had filed the petitions against the decisions of returning officer and an election tribunal whereby nomination papers of Kulsoom Nawaz were accepted.The petitioners have sought the court to overturn the Election Tribunal decision to reject their appeal against Returning Officer decision to accept the nomination papers of Kulsoom Nawaz.

Kulsoom Nawaz is PML-N candidate for NA-120 by-election scheduled for September 17, 2017.

The seat had fallen vacant following the disqualification of Nawaz Sharif by Supreme Court of Pakistan in Panamagate case.

Related News:

Bench Constituted To Hear Petitions Against Kulsoom Candidature

Petition aginst Kulsoom’s Papers Acceptance: Judge Recuses Himself

Spread the love

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top