Abb Takk News
MOST POPULARNews TickerPakistanPunjabTop NewsTRENDING

By-elections on 5 NA and 17 PA seats to be held today

Karachi/Lahore/Peshawar/Quetta: The by-elections in around two dozen National and provincial assembly constituencies will be held today.

The campaign for by-polls on 22 NA, PA seats ended on midnight of April 19 and 20.

According to the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) , by-elections will be held for five vacant seats of the National Assembly; 12 of the Punjab Assembly, two each of the Khyber-Pakh­tunkhwa and Balochistan legislatures as well as one of the Sindh Assembly.

All necessary arrangements for the by-elections have been finalised by ECP.

Polling will commence at 8 am and continue until 5 pm.

Over 6.23 million ballot papers have been printed for the elections. Specifically, white ballot papers have been printed for both the national and provincial assemblies.

In Punjab, 174 candidates are vying for positions, while Khyber Pakhtunkhwa has 49 candidates in the running.

Punjab boasts 21.77 million male and 18.67 million female registered voters, who will exercise their democratic rights. Meanwhile, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa will see 1.471 million voters participate in the by-elections.

For the National Assembly constituency NA-196 in Sindh, 4.239 million voters are eligible to vote. Five candidates will compete in this constituency, which will have 933 polling stations.

In Balochistan, 125 polling stations have been established across two provincial constituencies, where 163,000 voters will cast their votes.

To address any concerns or complaints, a control room will be set up in the provincial election commissioners’ offices.

It is pertinent to mention here that Asifa Bhutto has been elected unopposed from National Assembly Constituency NA-207 Shaheed Benazirabad, while Zubair Junejo has been elected unopposed from Sindh Assembly Constituency PS 80 Dadu.