Abb Takk News

10 New Members To Be Inducted In Federal Cabinet

Islamabad (August 29, 2018): The Federal cabinet is likely to be expanded as 10 new members are expected to be inducted next month.

Prime Minister Imran Khan’s cabinet currently includes 16 ministers and five advisers. However, several key ministries lie vacant.

According to sources, the prime minister was briefed regarding the ministries and was told that several are vacant owing to which the advisers are facing difficulty in fulfilling their roles and the decision-making process.The premier was informed that a meeting of the Economic Coordination Committee (ECC) was held, however, there are six ministries related to it which do not have someone on the top post, sources said.

Ministries of transportation, power division, privatisation, national food security, statistics and water resources do not have a minister which is why important decisions pertaining to them cannot be made, the sources further added regarding the briefing to PM Imran.

PM Imran then gave the nod and directed that appointments be made on the vacant ministries, sources said.

Earlier on August 28, Federal government decided to induct PTI Leader Shehryar Khan Afridi as Minister of State for Interior in the federal cabinet.

According to details, Prime Minister (PM) Imran Khan approved Afridi’s appointment.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

Imran Khan had earlier decided to keep control of the Ministry of Interior by himself.

Shehryar Khan Afridi was elected as a member of National Assembly (MNA) from Kohat during election 2018. He had also won from a seat during the 2013 general polls.

Earlier on August 20, a 16 member federal cabinet took oath at the presidency.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

The ceremony was attended by the prime minister, along with other dignitaries.

Following are the names of Ministers and their portfolios.

  • Asad Umar                           Finance Minister
  • Shah Mehmood Qureshi   Foreign Minister
  • Chaudhary Tariq Bashir    State and Frontier Region
  • Noorul Haq Qadri              Religious Affairs and Interfaith Harmony
  • Shireen Mazari                   Human Rights
  • Ghulam Sarwar Khan       Petroleum Division
  • Zubaida Jalal                      Defence Production
  • Shafqat Mehmood             Federal Education and professional training
  • Fawad Chaudhry                Information and Broadcasting Division
  • Sheikh Rasheed                  Railways
  • Amir Mehmood Kiyani     National Health Services
  • Farogh Naseem                  Law and Justice
  • Pervez Khattak                   Defence
  • Fehmida Mirza                   Inter-provincial Coordination
  • Khalid Mqbool Siddiquie Information Technology and Telecommunication

Related News:

Shehryar Afridi To Become State Minister For Interior