Abb Takk News

127 Prominent Personalities To Be Conferred With Civil Awards on 23rd March

KARACHI: The government has issued a list of 127 persons, including 18 foreigners, who will be conferred civil awards by President Dr Arif Alvi on March 23 for showing excellence in their respective fields.

The investiture ceremony of the awards would take place on March 23, a Cabinet Division press release said on Sunday.

The list, which is usually issued on the country’s Independence Day on August 14 every year, has been issued by the cabinet secretariat just two weeks before the Pakistan Day celebrations, as there was no government in the office on the country’s last Independence Day.

Prominent among those who will be conferred the civil awards are former Pakistan cricket team captain Wasim Akram, former fast bowler Waqar Younis, cricketer Yasir Shah, singers Attaullah Khan Esakhelvi and Sajjad Ali, film actors Babra Sharif, Reema Khan, Mehwish Hayat, Shabbir Jan and Iftikhar Thakur, newscaster Ishrat Fatima, TV anchor Arshad Sharif and businessman Aqeel Karim Dhedhi.