Abb Takk News

Karachi: By-elections in PS-106, PS-117, PS-22 to be held today

By-elections on PS-106, PS 117 and PS-22 will be held on Thursday (today) while all the preparations including transportation of election material to polling stations have been completed.

Voting will be started at 8 am and to continue without any break till 5 pm.

Tough fight is expected in PS 117 between MQM candidate Qamar Abbass and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Rafaqat Umar while Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) candidate Javeed Maqbool and Jamiat Ulma-e-Islam (JUI-F)’s candidate Syed Naeem Shah and ten other independent candidates will also test their fortune.

This provincial assembly seat consisting up of areas including Pakistan Quarters, Soldier Bazar, Martin Quarter, PIB colony, Patel Para and many areas of Lasbela.

In general election which was held in May 2013 Muttahid Quami Movement (MQM) candidate Dr Sagheer Ahmed was declared winner on PS 117 with 43,924 votes and now Dr Sagheer has joined Mustafa Kamal’s Pak Sarzameen Party (PSP) and resigned from the provincial seat.

As per notification of Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) Rangers will be deployed within and outside the polling stations in all three by-elections seats. While Pak Army soldiers will be performed as quick response force.

By-elections are being held in PS-22 Naushahro Feroze on the instruction of Supreme Court of Pakistan.

As many as 56 polling stations have been declared most sensitive while 23 are declared sensitive.