Abb Takk News

ICC Quarterly Meeting Begins In Auckland

Auckland(October 11, 2017): The quarterly meeting of International Cricket Council(ICC) began in Auckland, in which  9-country Test Championship will be approved while 13- country ODI league also to be approved.

The sport’s governing body has argued for years that a Test championship is needed to boost the five-day format’s popularity as crowds and television viewers flock to the big-hitting Twenty-20 version of the game.

But squabbling over formats and fears that some nations will be disadvantaged have twice stymied efforts to launch a league structure since 2010.

It has reported that plans for a nine-nation Test championship were now well advanced and the ICC was set to give the concept a green light on Friday at a meeting in Auckland.

The idea of four-day Test matches has also been floated, although traditionalists oppose the move. The ICC will also look at a major shake-up of one-day international fixtures at the Auckland meeting.

It said a 13-nation ODI league was being considered, which would operate on a three-year cycle with results affecting World Cup qualification.

Related News:

ICC Decides to Give Nod to Bio-Mechanic Lab in Pakistan

ICC Meeting to Begin in New Zealand this Week