Abb Takk News

Fakhar Becomes First Pakistani To Score Double Hundred in ODI

Web Desk (July 20, 2018): After setting a world record of highest partnership of 304 runs by Pakistani openers, Fakhar Zaman has become first Pakistani batsman, who has scored double century in ODI. He is the eighth international player, who has achieved this mark. 

Earlier, Pakistan’s opening pair Imam ul Haq and Fakhar ur Zaman set a new record of longest partnership by scoring 304 runs.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

This was was the highest opening partnership in ODI history beating 286 between Sri Lanka’s Jayasuriya and Tharanga against England in Leeds in 2006.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

Opener Fakhar Zaman became Pakistan’s first double centurion in one-day international cricket, achieving the accolade during ODI.

With this feat, he also became the country’s highest scorer in any ODI, surpassing Saeed Anwar’s 21-year old record of 194.

The 28-year old left-handed batsman, who rose to global fame with a match-winning ton in Champions Trophy 2017 final against India, is the sixth batsman to score a double hundred in ODIs.Both the batsmen smashed the bowling line of competitors and ruled over the ground with their thrilling strokes.

Fakhar Zaman first completed his century with the help of 2 sixes and 14 fours, while Imam-ul-Haq followed him with his century including 6 fours.Fakhar Zaman, thrashed the record of Muhammad Hafeez-Imran Farhat, who had the record of longest partnership with 228 runs, scored in September, 2011 against Zimbabwe in Harare.

Green shirts are currently leading with 3-0 in the ODI series against Zimbabwe.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

Pakistani captain, Sarfaraz Ahmed elected to bat first after winning the toss at Queens Sports Club, Bulawayo and opted electrifying duo Fakhar Zaman and Imam-ul-Haq to start the confident inning.

Pakistan have dominated the ODI series, bowling Zimbabwe out for 67 on Wednesday to go 3-0 up. With the series secured, Pakistan had the opportunity to experiment with their playing XI, but opted to go unchanged into the fourth match.Squad
Zimbabwe: Hamilton Masakadza (c), Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, Ryan Murray, Peter Moor, Tarisai Musakanda, Blessing Muzarabani, Liam Nicholas Roche, Malcolm Waller, Brian Chari, Chamu Chibhabha, Elton Chigumbura, Tendai Chisoro, Tendai Chatara, Wellington Masakadza, Richard Ngarava, Donald Tiripano

Pakistan: Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Babar Azam, Asif Ali, Sarfraz Ahmed (c), Mohammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Amir, Junaid Khan, Usman Khan, Yasir Shah, Hasan Ali, Haris Sohail

Related News:

ODI Series: Pakistan Batting First After Winning Toss

Pakistan To Play 4th ODI Against Zimbabwe Today