Abb Takk News

A Look At History of Asia Cup Cricket

Web Desk (September 15, 2018): First Asia Cup was organized in Sharjah in 1984 after the formation of Asian Cricket Council, in which India became the first Asian champion. India and Sr Lanka have won the title six and five times respectively, while, Pakistan became the champion twice.Asian Cricket Council was formed in 1983, and first tournament was organized in Sharjah after an year. India won the title for first Asia Cup.

13 editions of Asia Cup have been played up till now. First 12 events were based on ODI format, while in 2016, on the occasion of World T20’s inauguration, it was decided to convert Asia Cup on T20 format, which was won by India again.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

ACC has decided to base upcoming Asia Cup on the format of next World tournament. Keeping the World Cup 2019 in mind, upcoming Asia Cup will be an ODI tournament. 2020s event will be T20, peior to World T20.

In Asia Cup tournaments, Indian team have became champions for six times, including a T20 and five ODIs. SWri Lankan team won their last Asia Cup in 2014 under the captaincy of present captain Angelo Mathews, which was an ODI event.Sri Lankan team has won the Asia Cup trophy for five times.Pakistan has won the title of Asia Cup twice, in 2000 and 2012. Both wins of Pakistan were tournaments organized in Bangladesh.

This year’s Asia Cup is being held at UAE, which is a home-ground to Pakistan.

Related News:

Asia Cup Captains Address Joint Press Conference In Dubai

Hasan, Shadab Get Their New Look Done For Asia Cup