Abb Takk News

Afghanistan Name 15-Man ICC World Cup Squad

KABUL: Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) on Monday announced its 15-man World Cup squad for the upcoming International Cricket Council (ICC) World Cup 2019.

Afghanistan made a major change in their squad by announcing Gulbadin Naib as the new ODI captain of the side.

Asghar Afghan is in the 15-man squad while bowler Hamid Hassan has made his return.

The side also boasts of some quality players in Rashid Khan, Mohammed Nabi, Mujeeb Ur Rahman and Mohammad Shahzad.


Hassan’s comeback remains to be one of the biggest talking points as he last played for the senior team in 2017 and has been battling fitness issues since then.

Afghanistan open their World Cup campaign against Australia in Bristol on June 1.

The deadline set by the ICC to announce squads for the World Cup is April 23.


Gulbadin Naib (c), Mohammad Shahzad (wk), Noor Ali Zadran, Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmat Shah, Asghar Afghan, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Najibullah Zadran, Samiullah Shinwari, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Dawlat Zadran, Aftab Alam, Hamid Hassan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman.