Abb Takk News

APC Sets Jan 7 As New Deadline For Shehbaz, Sana Resignation

Lahore (December 30, 2017): The All Parties Conference (APC) led by Pakistan Awami Tehreek (PAT) ended with a January 7 deadline for Punjab Chief Minister Shehbaz Sharif, provincial Law Minister Rana Sanaullah and others responsible for the Model Town incident to resign.

The All Parties Conference (APC) hosted by Chairman Pakistan Awami Tehreek (PAT) Tahirul Qadri and attended by at least 12 mainstream political parties formulated a steering committee that will review the day to day development and will have the power to take decision instantly regarding the Model Town tragedy movement.

PAT President Tahirul Qadri opened the press conference with Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Vice Chairman Shah Mehmood Qureshi and Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) leader Qamar Zaman Kaira reading out a 10-point statement outlining the demands.

Tahirul Qadri told the names of the steering committee, who drafted the declaration and resolution.The APC has extended the deadline of CM Punjab Shehbaz Sharif and Punjab law minister Rana Sanaullah’s resignations from December 31 to January 7.

PTI’s Shafaqat Mehmood, Shah Mehmood Qureshi (PTI), Shiekh Rasheed Ahmed, Ch Zahirudin of PML-Q, Ameerul Azeem JI,  Waseem Aftab (PSP), JUI-S Representative , JUP’s Abul Khair were included in drafting of declaration of the conference.

Shah Mehmood Qureshi red the resolution, which was unanimously passed by APC:

“APC strongly condemn the change in finality of Prophet laws and PML-N including Nawaz Sharif is indulged in this heinous crime and APC demanded the stern action against the culprits behind change in laws. APC condemn the cruelty done with Model Town protesters and demand bringing the culprits into task.”

APC demanded the formation of JIT for the Model Town probe.

Main points of APC Declaration: 

1– All Parties Conference condemns the Model Town incident and amendment in the Finality of Prophethood declaration.

2- Model Town incident was the worst of state terrorism, in which the leadership of  Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz, including Nawaz Sharif, Shehbaz Sharif and Rana Sanaullah were involved along with bureaucrats, police officers and Punjab government officials. They ordered firing at 100 people on the pretext of an anti-encroachment operation, martyring 14.

3- The amendment in the Finality of the Prophethood is an attack on the faith of hundreds of thousands of Muslims and on the Constitution. Nawaz Sharif and PLM-N as a party were involved in this state terrorism. The mastermind behind amendment in the Finality of Prophethood declaration has neither been brought to the fore nor has the culprit been punished. PML-N has lost the right to hold power after attacking the faith. This conflict will continue till people involved in the crime are taken to task. APC demands the culprits be dealt with an iron fist.

4- APC announced that people martyred and injured on June 17, 2014 in Model Town were not only workers of Pakistan Awami Tehreek but were citizens of Pakistan. It is the joint responsibility of all the parties in the APC to fight for justice for the people who were opened fire at. APC owns the efforts that will be undertaken for the purpose. Justice in the Model Town incident will prove to be a milestone for the rule of law.

5– The bereaved families of Model Town incident have got only the report of Justice Baqir Najafi after waiting for justice for three and a half years. This proves that transparent investigation, trial, and provision of justice would not be possible in the case till Nawaz Sharif and Shehbaz Sharif will remain in power. Although 125 police officials were summoned, not a single one was arrested. Not only this, bureaucrats and government officials involved in the murder have not even been summoned. This shows that the incumbent government has failed to deliver justice.

6- Since the report of Baqir Najafi Commission has declared Punjab Chief Minister Shehbaz Sharif and Punjab Law Minister Rana Sanaullah responsible for planning the Model Town incident, the APC demands that they and others involved in the crime step down from their positions before January 7, 2018. APC has mutually extended the deadline of December 31, 2017, to January 7, 2018. If resignations are not given by January 7, the steering committee will organize a meeting on January 8 and decide the next course of action for protest.

7-APC demands that all provincial assemblies and Senate get resolutions approved regarding the resignation demands of Punjab CM Shehbaz Sharif and Punjab Law Minister Rana Sanaullah.

8-Two FIRs of Model Town incident are filed and the Punjab government constituted two joint investigation teams (JIT) on the issue. These JITs could not record the statements from families of the victims killed and injured in the incident. This means that the martyrdom has not been recorded in any of the two JITs. The law required statements from the complainant and victims for the sake of fair trial. Therefore, the APC demands the chief justice of Pakistan form a JIT taking suo motu notice on the incident which was against humanity, state and the public. The APC also demanded a judge of the Supreme Court monitors the JIT.

9- APC demands no NRO be given — under internal or external pressure — to the Sharif family, which has looted the national wealth. The public will not accept it if relief or any sort is given to the Sharif family.

10- APC has constituted a committee to decide the next course of action on the deadline, which will be called the Steering Committee of APC. The committee will have the authority to take action in case of an emergency. The Steering Committee will have the following members, Pakistan Peoples Party, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, Awami Muslim League, Majlis Wahdat-e-Muslimeen, Pak Sarzameen Party, Muslim Conference. Pakistan Awami Tehreek Secretary General Khurram Nawaz Gandapur will be the coordinator of the committee and Sardar Muhammad Lateef Khosa will be the legal adviser of the Steering Committee.

Earlier in a bid to converge all opposition parties on one platform, an All Parties Conference (APC) of the Pakistan Awami Tehreek (PAT) chief Dr Tahirul Qadri to discuss the Model Town incident and Nawaz Sharif’s disqualification as prime minister is being held in Lahore on Saturday.

Representatives of Pakistan Tahreek-e-Insaf (PTI), Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP), Awami Muslim League (AML), Jamaat-e-Islami (JI), Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM)-Pakistan, Pak Sarzameen Party (PSP) and other opposition parties reached the PAT Secretariat in Model Town to attend All Parties Conference called on Model Town incident.

Related News: 

All Parties Conference of Pakistan Awami Tehreek Ends