Abb Takk News

Beijing Slaps Sanctions on 11 American Lawmakers

BEIJING: China imposed sanctions on 11 Americans, including six lawmakers, on Monday in retaliation to Washington’s earlier move against Chinese officials over Beijing’s crackdown in Hong Kong.

Among those targeted were Senators Ted Cruz, Marco Rubio, Tom Cotton, Josh Hawley and Pat Toomey and Representative Chris Smith, as well as individuals at non-profits and rights groups.

“In response to those wrong US behaviors, China has decided to impose sanctions on individuals who have behaved egregiously on Hong Kong-related issues,” Chinese foreign ministry spokesman Zhao Lijian told a regular press briefing on Monday.

He did not specify what the sanctions entail.

Relations between the two countries have deteriorated over issues ranging from trade to Hong Kong and China’s handling of COVID-19.

Beijing’s move is the latest in a tit-for-tat round of sanctions between China and the United States over allegations of rights abuses and interference.