Abb Takk News

Bisma Maroof Named as Captain of ODI Squad

Lahore (September 30, 2017): Pakistan Cricket Board has replaced ODI team captain Sana Mir with Bismah Maroof, who is also captain of the national women team in T-20 format.

Following a review of the current women cricket structure after a dismal performance in the recently concluded World Cup, the PCB announced a number of changes to the team and management set-up.

Click Play Button to Watch this Video 

Sana Mir has been replaced as captain of Pakistan women’s team in the 50-over format, but she will be eligible for selection as a player in both formats of the game. Bismah Maroof, who already leads the team in T20s, will take over as captain of the ODI team as well.

The reins of women’s cricket have been taken away from General Manager Shamsa Hashmi. A search for a new GM for women’s cricket will be started through advertisements in the newspaper.A new team manager will be appointed. The former manager Ayesha Ashhar has meanwhile been given interim charge of the women’s wing till a new GM is appointed.

The selection committee has been disbanded and the process of appointing new members of the committee will be started soon.“These are well thought out decisions taken after a comprehensive internal review. I am hopeful that we will transform women cricket into a well-knit unit both on field and at the management level,” Najam Sethi said.

Related News 

Day 3: Pakistan Resume Innings at 64-0 Against Sri Lanka

Queen’s Baton Relay of XXI CW Games Arrive in Pakistan