Abb Takk News

By-Election On PP-218 Will Be Held Tomorrow

MULTAN:  Polling for the by-election on Punjab Assembly seat PP-218 Multan-VIII will be held tomorrow.

As many as 138 polling stations have been set up for the by-polls in the constituency.

Six candidates are in the field, including Malik Wasif Mazhar Raan of PTI and Arshad Raan of PPP as the main contestants. PML-N is not contesting and backing PPP candidate.

The seat had fallen vacant due to the demise of PTI MPA Malik Mazhar Abbas Raan.

In general election of last year, PTI Malik Mazhar Abbas Raan has defeated PPP candidate Malik Abbass Raan.

The PTI candidate Mazhar Abbass Raan has won by 45817 votes while PPP candidate Malik Muhammad Abbass had come on the second position with 37417 votes. On the other hand, PML-N candidate Zafar Ahmed Raan was the third position with 25088 votes.

A twist in the constituency came on February 23 when the PML-N candidate Zafar Ahmed Raan had joined the ruling PTI after calling on PTI chief Imran khan.