Abb Takk News

By-Polls: Saad, Khaqan Submit Nomination Papers

Lahore (August 30, 2018): Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz leader and former Minister for Railways, Khawaja Saad Rafique on Thursday submitted his nomination papers to contest from NA-131 Lahore 9 constituency in the upcoming by-elections.

Rafique had lost to Prime Minister Imran Khan from NA-131 in a closely fought contest, securing 83,633 votes against the PTI chairman’s 84,313 votes.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

PML-N had issued a ticket to the former railway’s minister to contest the by-elections from the same constituency after PM Imran vacated the seat to keep his hometown seat of NA-95 Mianwali.

Rafique’s papers were submitted by his spokesperson Qasim, and were accepted by returning officer Raham Zada.

Rafique’s wife, Ghazala Saad Rafique, will serve as the covering candidate for the former minister. Moreover, former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbas has submitted his papers for NA-124 constituency. The seat was vacated by Hamza Shehbaz.

By-elections will be held countrywide are set to take place on 11 NA and 26 provincial assembly seats lying vacant on October 14.

Among the seats where by-elections are to take place are NA-35, NA-53, NA-60, NA-63, NA-65, NA-69, NA-103, NA-124, NA-131 and NA-243.Provincial assemblies where by-elections will take place include Punjab Assembly seats PP-3, PP-27, PP-87, PP-103, PP-118, PP-164, PP-165, PP-201, PP-222, PP-261, PP-272, PP-292 and PP-296.

While Sindh assembly seats PS-30 and PS-87 will hold by-elections.

In Balochistan by-elections will be held on PB-35 and PB-40 while in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa by-elections will be held on PK-3, PK-7, PK-44, PK-53, PK-61, PK-64, PK-78, PK-97 and PK-99.

Related News:

By-polls: Candidates Receiving Nomination Papers

ECP Issues Notification of Imran’s Victory From NA-131