Abb Takk News

By-election Campaign Ends, All Set for Oct 14 By-poll

Islamabad (October 13, 2018): The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has finalized the arrangements for the by-election, which will be held on October 14, as the election campaign time ended.

The election will be held on 11 National Assembly seats and 24 seats from provincial assemblies included 11 seats for Punjab Assembly, nine for Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, and two each for Sindh and Balochistan.

The ballot papers for all constituencies in both the National and Provincial assemblies have been printed. As many as 122 candidates have been contesting a by-election in 11 constituencies of National Assembly.

According to details provided by the ECP, over 9.23 million voters will exercise their vote in the by-election. Around 7489 polling stations have been set up for 35 constituencies as 641 candidates will contest the election.

ECP said that 1727 polling stations of 35 constituencies have been declared highly sensitive in which 134 in Balochistan, 201 in Sindh, 544 in KP and 848 in Punjab and Islamabad.According to ECP the candidates of pp-87 and pp-296 have been declared successful unopposed.

The commission has already issued amended voters’ lists to the districts concerned as the polling will be held on new electoral rolls.

The total registered voters in the country have reached the figure of 106,000,239 with 59,243,889 male (55.89 percent) and 46,756,350 female (44.11 percent) voters. Out of total registered voters, 60,697,418 were from Punjab, 22,394,212 voters from Sindh, 17,839,845 voters from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (including FATA), 4,302,304 voters from Balochistan and 766,460 voters from federal capital.

In Punjab, the male voters were 33,690,140 while female voters were 27,007,278, while in Sindh, the male voters were 12,438,375 while female voters were 9,955,837. Similarly in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, the male voters were 10,220,103 while the female voters were 7,619,742. In Balochistan, the male voters were 2,487,470 while the female voters were 1,814,834 while in federal capital the male voters 407,801 and the female voters were 358,659.Special security plan has been chalked out to ensure foolproof security for sensitive polling station on polling day. He added the security plan will be implemented in coordination with the provincial governments and departments concerned as the commission has planned special security measures to ensure security of voters for having better turnout.

Foolproof security arrangements have been planned with deployment of security personnel at polling stations to ensure smooth polling process.

The ECP requested the political parties and candidates to follow the provisions of law and exercise self-restraint so that the poll would be held in an orderly and peaceful manner on October 14.

It has also issued voters pass to successful registered 7,364 I-voters for bye-elections. He added these voters passes were issued during the registration process of I-voters through their email ID.The commission said that all registered I-voters can cast their vote in bye-elections being held on October 14, while only registered I-voters with having voters passes will have right of casting vote. The ECP asked all such pass holders to exercise their right of vote during 8:00am to 5:00pm (Pakistan Standard Time) on polling day.

By-poll Campaign Ended 

The election campaign for by-elections on 36 constituencies has come to an end.  According to Election Commission of Pakistan, those violating the order will be fined upto one hundred thousand rupees and imprisoned up to two years.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) constituted 27 monitoring teams to monitor the by-elections.

Eleven National Assembly and 26 provincial assembly seats fell vacant due to different reasons, including resignations by those elected on more than one seat and death of some contesting candidates.

Four of the 11 National Assembly seats have been vacated by Prime Minister-elect Imran Khan – who won all five seats he contested. The seats vacated by him are: NA-35 (Bannu), NA-53 (Islamabad), NA-131 (Lahore) and NA-243 (Karachi). Two National Assembly seats NA-65 (Chakwal) and NA-69 (Gujrat) have been vacated by Chaudhry Pervez Elahi of PML-Q, who has now been elected the Speaker of Punjab Assembly.The seat of NA-56 (Attock) was vacated by retired Maj Tahir Sadiq of PTI who also won from adjacent NA-55 seat. Likewise Ghulam Sarwar Khan vacated NA-63 seat. He also won from NA-59 (Rawalpindi). Another seat, NA-124 (Lahore)was vacated by PML-N leader Hamza Shahbaz Sharif, who chose to retain the provincial assembly seat he also won in the election.

There are 13 provincial assembly seats in Punjab on which by-elections will be held. They include PP-3 Attock, PP-27 Jhelum, PP-87 Mianwali, PP-103 Faisalabad, PP-118 Toba Tek Singh, PP-164 and PP-165, Lahore, PP-201 Sahiwal, PP-222 Multan, PP-261 Rahim Yar Khan, PP-272 Muzaffargarh, PP-292 Dera Ghazi Khan and PP-296 Rajanpur. Nine provincial assembly seats of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa on which by-elections will be held include PK-3 and PK-7 Swat, PK-44 Swabi, PK-53 Mardan, PK-61 and 64 Nowshera, PK-78 Peshawar and PK-97 and PK-99 Dera Ismail Khan.Two provincial assembly constituencies each from Sindh and Balochistan, where by-polls will be held include PS-87 Malir and PS-87 Khairpur; and PB-35 Mastung and PB-40 Khuzdar respectively.

The national and provincial assembly seats fell vacant due to the death of candidates or resignation of elected lawmakers from seats as they had won more than one seat in General Elections 2018 held on July 25.

Related News: 

By-polls Campaign To End At Midnight Tonight

ECP Seeks FIA Help To Probe RTS Closure on Election Night