Abb Takk News

ECP Issues Notification of Imran’s Victory From NA-131

Islamabad (August 09, 2018): The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has issued notification of PTI Chief Imran Khan’s victory from NA-131 Lahore.

The Commission also issued notification of the returned candidates from NA-108 Faisalabad, NA-90 Sargodha, PK-4 and PP-26.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

Earlier on Wednesday, Suspending the Lahore High Court’s (LHC) order to re-tabulate results of NA-131 constituency, the Supreme Court (SC) accepted PTI chief Imran Khan’s petition against the ruling for hearing.

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Khawaja Saad Rafique had petitioned for a recount in the closely contested NA-131 Lahore-9 constituency, from where Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chief Imran Khan had emerged victorious. He had alleged that the presiding officer deliberately rejected hundreds of votes.

Earlier, the PML-N leader (Saad Rafiq) had requested the constituency’s returning officer (RO) to conduct a recount of the rejected votes. Following the re-tabulation, Imran’s margin of victory had reduced to 608 votes.Later, Rafique had petitioned to re-tabulate results of the entire constituency which was rejected by the returning officer. The PML-N leader had then challenged the decision in the Lahore High Court.

On August 4, the LHC heard Rafique’s petition and ordered a recount in the constituency. The high court had also ordered the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) to withhold Imran’s victory notification for NA-131.

On Tuesday, the electoral body had notified all successful candidates but withheld those challenged in courts, including Imran’s notification for the said constituency. The PTI legal counsel Babar Awan then contacted the apex court in this regard.

From NA-53 Islamabad, Imran had defeated former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi. The PTI chief had received 92,891 votes while the PML-N leader managed to get 44,314 votes.From NA-35 Bannu, MMA candidate Akram Durrani came second with 22,514 votes, while Imran had won with 24,317 votes.

From NA-243 Karachi, Imran had defeated his opponent from MQM-P Ali Raza Abidi with a heavy margin, where the former got 91,358 votes, while the latter only managed to receive 24,082 votes.

From his home constituency in Mianwali, NA-95, Imran defeated PML-N candidate Obaidullah Shadikhel. The PTI candidate won with 162,499 votes, while his opponent bagged merely 49,505 votes.

Pakistan voted on Wednesday, July 25, 2018, for the country’s second consecutive democratic transfer of power. Voters from 85,307 constituencies of the national and provincial assemblies cast ballots in favour of the 11,855 contesting candidates.With 117 seats, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) emerged as the winner in the National Assembly. The party also bagged the most votes in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa — where it ruled for the past five years.

In Punjab, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz emerged as the single-largest party in the provincial assembly with 129 seats, while the PTI has a tally of 123. The Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid-e-Azam has eight MPAs after the joining of an independent member, while the PPP has six. There are 28 independents in all.

Related News:

ECP Withholds Imran’s Victory From NA 53, NA 131

Recounting of Votes in Entire NA 131 Will Be Carried Out Today