Abb Takk News

ECP Rejects Sindh Govt Refusal For Holding Local Bodies Elections Citing Lack Of Police Contingent

Karachi: Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) Sindh today rejected Sindh government refusal holding a second phase of local bodies elections for three months citing lack of police contingent in the city.

The ECP said that the provincial government ensured provision of the police during the second phase of local bodies elections which is scheduled to be held on October 23.

Police Letter Regarding Lack Of Contingents Owing To Floods

Earlier, Sindh government once again recommended postponing the second phase of the local bodies elections on a basis of a police department letter over which it has written a letter to the ECP.

The provincial government has again refused holding of the second phase of the local bodies election by writing the letter to the ECP.

The Sindh government has made excuse on the basis of the letter of police department in which the home ministry has been informed that they will not be able to provide security during the elections as the personnel of Sindh police have been posted to flood affected areas.

The police department in its letter also said that owing to shortage of contingents of the police the holding of second phase of local bodies elections are not possible.

ECP Announces To Hold Second Phase Of Local Bodies Elections On October 23

The ECP had announced on September 14 that the local bodies elections in all seven districts of Karachi will be held on October 23, Aaj News reported.

Last month, the ECP postponed the second phase of local bodies elections in Sindh for the second time due to rains and the risk of urban flooding.

The second phase of LG polls in Sindh was originally scheduled to be held on July 24. Just days before the scheduled date, the polls were pushed for a month due to incessant monsoon rains in the province.

As per the earlier schedule, polling was due to be held in 16 districts of Sindh — East, West, South, Central, Korangi, Keamari, and Malir of Karachi division and Hyderabad, Dadu, Jamshoro, Matiari, Tando Muhammad Khan, Tando Allahyar, Badin, Sujawal and Thatta of Hyderabad division.

The first phase of Sindh local government polls had held in June this year.