Abb Takk News

ECP To Complete Scrutiny Of Nomination Papers Today

Islamabad (June 19, 2018): The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) will complete the process of scrutiny of nomination papers filed by candidates for upcoming general elections on Tuesday(today).

According to Election Commission, a total of 21,482 nomination papers have been filed across the country for national and provincial assemblies.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video 

Six thousand sixty three candidates are contesting for 342 seats of the National Assembly, while 15419 nomination papers have been filed for the provincial assemblies’ seats.

As per the election schedule, appeals against rejection or acceptance of nomination papers can be filed by 22nd of this month.The Appellate Tribunals will decide the appeals by 27th, after which the revised list of candidates will be published on 28th of this month.

Candidates can withdraw their nomination papers by 29th June and the electoral body will announce the final list of candidates the same day.

Electoral symbols will be issued to candidates on 30th June while polling will be held on 25th of next month.Meanwhile, in a statement, ECP spokesman Altaf Khan has said that time for scrutiny of nomination papers will not be extended.

He said there is no proposal under consideration in this regard.

In Sindh province, during scrutiny process in Karachi today (Monday), nomination papers of Shehla Raza of PPP for NA-243 Karachi East, Dr. Amir Liaquat Hussain of PTI for NA-245, Rauf Siddiqui of MQM for NA-243 and NA 244 and Masroor Qadri of JUP for NA-239 were accepted.

Returning officer reserved the decision on the nomination papers filed by Khawaja Izharul Hassan of MQM Pakistan and he has again been summoned tomorrow for scrutiny of papers.In Karachi, total 577 candidates have filed nomination papers for 21 NA seats and 1253 candidates have submitted papers for 44 provincial assembly seats in the provincial metropolis.

According to details, scrutiny of nomination papers of candidates is continuing in all six districts of Karachi.

The Provincial Election Commission Khyber Pakhtunkhwa today completed scrutiny of twenty-two nomination papers for nine seats reserved for women in the National Assembly.

According to a spokesman of Provincial Election Commission Sohail Ahmad, scrutiny of thirty-seven nomination papers for women reserved seats in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly has been completed.Similarly, scrutiny of nineteen nomination papers filed for three seats reserved for minorities in the provincial Assembly has also been completed.

Pakistan Tehreek e Insaf Chief Imran Khan has submitted his written reply through his counsel on objections raised during scrutiny at Returning Officers for NA-53 Islamabad.

In his reply, it has been mentioned that the objections are concocted and unverifiable. It adds that objections are in the form of photostat copies for the purpose to hold a media trial.Sixty-three candidates had filed their nomination papers for NA-53 Islamabad.

The Returning Officer had summoned PTI Chairman Imran Khan, PML (N) leader Shahid Khaqan Abbasi and Aisha Gulalai today for the scrutiny process.

Maryam Nawaz, the daughter of  Former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, was cleared to contest elections from Lahore’s NA-125 constituency on Monday after the returning officer (RO) accepted her nomination papers.

The decision came as RO Asif Bashir dismissed all objections raised during scrutiny of her nomination papers.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video:

Maryam is expected to contest on the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s ticket to contest the July 25 general elections from Lahore’s NA-125 and NA-127 constituency.

The NA-125 constituency, situated in the heart of Lahore, was the NA-120 constituency prior to the new delimitation of constituencies.NA-120 was bagged by former premier Nawaz in the 2013 elections and after his disqualification, by his wife Kulsoom Nawaz even though she did not take part in the campaign herself.

Maryam had spearheaded the NA-120 by-election campaign for her mother in 2017 following Nawaz’s disqualification. At the time, Kulsoom had defeated Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf candidate Dr Yasmin Rashid by over 14,000 votes.

Related News:

RO Asks Former PM Abbasi To Submit Tax Details

Imran Asked To Appear In Person For Nomination Papers’ Scrutiny