Abb Takk News

ECP To Issue Final Senate Candidates List Today

Islamabad (February 20, 2018): The Election Commission of Pakistan would issue final list of the Senate candidates from all four provinces of the country, federal capital Islamabad and FATA today.

The process of withdrawing the candidature was completed on Monday while the process to scrutinize the nominations papers of the candidates was completed before it.

20 candidates vying for 12 seats of Senate from Punjab province.

Click Play Button to Watch this Video 

The list includes Ishaq Dar, Asif Kirmani, Rana Maqbool, Rana Mahmoodul Hassan, Shaheen Khalid Butt, Zubair Gull, Haroon Akhtar Khan, Musaddaq Malik, Hafiz Abdul Karim, Naseer Ahmad Bhutta, Kamran Michael, Nuzhat Sadiq and Sadia Abbasi of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz.

The candidates of Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf are Chaudhry Muhammad Sarwar, Malik Asif Javed, Andleeb Abbas and Victor Azariah. Shahzad Ali Khan and Muhammad Nawazish Ali are of the PPP while Kamil Ali Agha of the PML-Q.Moreover, thirty-three candidates were left in the field to run for the 12 Senate seats from Sindh after withdrawal of 10 aspirants on Monday, the last day for the exercise.

Eight covering candidates of the Pakistan Peoples Party and one candidate of the Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan and an independent candidate submitted their withdrawal applications to the Election Commission of Pakistan, which were accepted.

Furthermore, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) office of the election commission reported that five candidates have withdrawn their papers, four of which were to contest for general seats while one for technocrat’s.A total of 14 candidates from KP province are to contest Senate elections for general seats, five for technocrat vacancies and eight women candidates are taking part in the polls.

Faisal Javed, Ayub Afridi, Khayal Zaman, Fida Muhammad and Abdul Latif Yousafzai are PTI’s candidates, Behramand Tangi and Faisal Sakhi Butt are candidates of Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), Mushtaq Ahmed of Jamaat-e-Islami (JI), Masood Abbas of Awami National Party (ANP), Afzal Jadoon and Pir Sabir Shah of PML-N, Ghufran Khan of Qaumi Watan Party (QWP) and Gul Naseeb Khan and Talha Mehmood from Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) are contesting Senate elections 2018 from KP province.

Azam Khan Swati of PTI, Dilawar Khan of PML-N, Sheikh Yaqoob of JUI-F and Maulana Samiul-Haq and Dr Muhammad Nisar are to contest the polls as independent candidates for technocrat seats.Mehr Taj Roghani and Naureen Farooq of PTI, Raeesa Daud and Sobia Shahid of PML-N, Shagufta Malik of ANP, Rubina Khalid of PPP, Naeema Kishore of JUI and Aneesa Zaib of QWP are taking part in polls on seats reserved for women.

25 candidates will contest Senate elections from Balochistan province. According to ECP, Monday was the last day for withdrawal of nomination papers from Balochistan province.

It said that on technocrat seat, National Party’s candidate Nazimudin had withdrawn his nomination papers in favour of National Party’s candidate Tahir Bazenjo.

Related News:

Senate: Nomination Papers of 42 Candidates Accepted From Sindh

Senate Polls: Deadline Ends for Withdrawal of Nominations