Abb Takk News

ECP To Scrutinize Successful Candidates’ Election Expenses

Islamabad (August 08, 2018): The Election Commission of Pakistan on Wednesday decided to hold scrutiny of election expenses details provided by the successful candidates.

The political wing of the ECP will complete the process within 90 days. However, the information will be considered authentic if the investigation would not finish in the given time.

The limit of expenses for National Assembly is Rs4 million while that of provincial assembly is Rs2 million.

Earlier on Tuesday, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) notified the final results of the general election.

The notification meets a legal deadline for declaration of results set under Section 98 of the Elections Act.

On the other hand, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) withheld the notification of 11 National and 23 Provincial assemblies’ constituencies due to cases in courts, death of candidates, postponement of election, non-submission of returns and recounting.

According to ECP, the notification of Imran’s success in NA-53 (Islamabad) and NA-131 (Lahore) has also been withheld. From NA-53 (Islamabad), Imran Khan had defeated former Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi.

The notification for NA-131 (Lahore) success was withheld due to case in Lahore High Court.In other three constituencies — NA-35 (Bannu), NA-243 (Karachi) and NA-95 (Mianwali) — notifications of Imran’s success have been issued but is subject to the final decision of the Election Commission in the pending case of violation of the code of conduct.

The other National Assembly constituencies where ECP withheld notification are NA-60 Rawalpindi, NA-90 Sargodha, NA-103 Faisalabad, NA-108 Faisalabad, NA-112 Toba Tek, NA-140 Kasur, NA-215 Sanghar and NA-271 Kech.

On provincial assemblies, ECP has withheld the notification included, PP-76 Sargodha, PP-87 Mianwali, PP-103 Faisalabad,PP-118 Toba Tek Singh, PP-123 Toba Tek Singh, PP-177 Kasur, PP-296 Rajanpur, PS-29 Khairpur, PS-36 Naushero Feroze, PS-48 Mirpurkhas, PS-54 Tharparkar, PS-73 Badin, PS-82 Jamshoro, PS-87 Malir, PK-4 Swat, PK23 Shangla, PK-38 Abbottabad, PK-78 Peshawar, PK-99 D I Khan, PB-26 Quetta, PB-35 Mastung, PB-36 Shaheed Sikandarabad, and PB-41 Washuk.

Related News:

PML-N, Other Parties To Stage Protest Outside ECP Today  

Last Day To Submit Expense Declarations To ECP