Abb Takk News

Elections Will Not Be Delayed At Any Cost: CJP

Islamabad (June 04, 2018): Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP) Mian Saqib Nisar on Monday said there was no possibility of a delay in the upcoming elections unless the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) became helpless.  

These remarks were given by the CJP during the hearing of a case regarding electoral amendments, which was filed by the Watan Party.

 Click Play Button To Watch This Video 

All matters pertaining to elections must be completed on an urgent basis, the chief justice noted.

Director-general of Election Commission Pakistan (ECP) noted that the code of conduct was formed with consensus from all political parties.DG ECP informed the court that a new code of conduct for General Elections 2018 was formed after Election Act 2017 was passed.

The court then summoned a response from ECP on the code of conduct, to be submitted by the latter today.CJP Nisar noted that the new code of conduct will be compared to its previous issue.

The hearing was then adjourned till Wednesday, with directives issued by the apex court for the formation of a larger bench.

On the other hand, Election Activities have kicked off across the country, candidates are reaching returning officers’ office to receive forms for the upcoming elections.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

Election Commission will accept nomination papers from the candidates for general elections till 8th of this month.

Scrutiny of nomination papers by Returning Officers will be conducted by 14th of this month.Appeals against decisions of Returning Officers can be filed by 19th, while appeals will be decided by Appellate Tribunals by 26th of this month.

Revised list of candidates will be published by 27th.

Candidates can withdraw their candidature by 28th of the current month and then the final list of candidates will be published the same day. Election symbols will be allotted to the contesting candidates on 29th of this month.

According to the Election Commission, the same programme will be applicable to the seats reserved for Women and non-Muslims in the National Assembly and provincial assemblies of Punjab, Sindh, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, and Balochistan.

Related News: 

SC Turns Down LHC Decision Regarding Nomination Papers

ECP Issues Revised Schedule for General Polls