Abb Takk News

Euro T20 Slim will Start from August 30

Another T20 league promises to thoroughly entertain the fans as six teams – two each based in Ireland, Scotland and Netherlands will take part in the inaugural edition of the Euro T20 Slam which will start from August 30.

The player draft for the same was successfully completed on Friday in London. The six teams got to pick one designated ‘icon player’ and one ‘marquee player’. While the identities of these players were revealed beforehand, it remained suspense about which team they’d play for.

Ultimately, the Amsterdam Knights got Shane Watson and Imran Tahir as their icon and marquee players. For the Belfast Titans, it was Shahid Afridi and JP Duminy while Dublin Chiefs had Eoin Morgan and Babar Azam. Brendon McCullum and Dale Steyn will play in the same capacity for Glasgow Giants while it will be Martin Guptill and Chris Lynn for Edinburgh Rocks. Rotterdam Rhinos will have Rashid Khan and Luke Ronchi.

The draft system was slightly different as there was a lucky draw to decide who got the first pick. In the subsequent rounds, the reverse order was followed. Ben Cutting was the first player to be picked and he went to the Amsterdam Knights. Mohammad Amir, Ravi Bopara, Fakhar Zaman and Matt Henry were amongst the others who were picked in the first two rounds.

Anil Kumble, who is one of the board members for the tournament, said that it was exciting to see the growth of cricket worldwide. The matches will take place in three cities – Edinburgh, Amsterdam and Dublin. The competition will run from August 30 to September 22.

Following are the teams; Amsterdam Knights, Belfast Titans: Dublin Chiefs Edinburgh Rocks Glasgow Giants Rotterdam Rhinos