Abb Takk News

GE 2018: Last Day For Filing Nomination Papers Today

Islamabad (June 11, 2018): Candidates across the country are filing their nomination papers, whereas today is the last day for filing of nomination papers for upcoming general elections.

Nomination papers for reserved seats of women and non-Muslims can also be filed by Monday.

Meanwhile, offices of Election Commission, as well as District Returning Officers and Returning Officers, are open today to facilitate the aspiring candidates to file their nomination papers.According to the revised election schedule issued by ECP, the preliminary list of candidates will be published on June 11.

Scrutiny process of nomination papers will continue till 19th while appeals against rejection or acceptance of papers can be filed by 22nd of this month.

The Appellate Tribunals will decide about the appeals by 27th, after which the revised list of candidates will be published on 28th of this month.

Candidates can withdraw their papers by 29th of this month, after which the final list of candidates will be published the same day.Election symbols will be allotted to the contesting candidates on 30th of this month, while the polling for both National and Provincial Assembly elections will be held on 25th of next month.

On the other hand, prominent political leaders including Pervez Musharraf had obtained nomination papers from NA-247 Karachi constituency to participate in upcoming general elections.

According to the details, former President received nomination papers from NA 247 to contest upcoming polls.

MQM’s Farooq Sattar, Arif Alvi of PTI, PSP’s Mustafa Kamal and MMA’s Hafeez Naeemur  Rehman Butt will contest election against Musharraf on NA 247.Human rights activist and lawyer Jibran Nasir has also submitted his nomination papers for NA-247 and PS-11 as an independent candidate.

Meanwhile, PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari also submitted his nomination papers for NA 246.

Talking to the newsmen after filling his nomination papers, Bilawal Bhutto said today is the happiest movement of his life, he will carry the mission of Shaheed Benazir Bhutto.On the other hand, former federal minister and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Khawaja Saad Rafique will contest election against Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chairman Imran Khan from National Assembly constituency NA-131.PML-N leader Maryam Nawaz has decided to contest election from NA-125. Dr Yasmin Rashid of PTI will be Maryam Nawaz’s opponent from this seat in the general elections 2018.

Chief Minister Punjab, Shahbaz Sharif will contest election from NA-134. PTI’s Zaheer Abbad Khokar will be his opponent. Hamza Shahbaz will face PTI’s candidate Waleed Iqbal in NA-124 constituency.

PML-N’s Ayaz Sadiq will contest election against Aleem Khan of PTI from NA 129 while PML-N’s Khawaja Ahmed Hassan will face Shafqat Mahmood of PTI in NA-130.Zaeem Qadri of PML-N will contest against Ijaz Chaudhry of PTI from NA-133 while Saif-ul-Maluk Khokar of PML-N will face PTI’s Karamat Khokar in National Assembly constituency NA-135 and PML-N’s Afzal Khokar will contest election against PTI’s Khalid Gujjar from NA-136 constituency.

Sources further informed that PML-N’s Malik Riaz will contest election from NA 123, Mian Marghub from NA-126, Malik Parvaiz from NA 127 and Sheikh Rohail Asghar will be PML-N candidate from National Assembly constituency 128.

Related News:

ECP Decides Not To Upload Asset Details on Website

Not Working On Any Political Agenda: Caretaker CM Punjab