Abb Takk News

Glimpses of ICC Champions Trophy 2017  

London (June 14, 2017) The 2017 ICC Champions Trophy is the 8th ICC Champions Trophy, a One Day International (ODI) cricket tournament. It is currently being held in England and Wales between 1 and 18 June 2017.

The top eight teams in the ICC ODI Championship rankings as on 30 September 2015 qualified for the tournament, for which they were divided into two groups of four.

In Group A, England beaten Bangladesh by 8 wickets on June 1. Rain ruined New Zealand-Australia match on June 2 and both teams were given one point each under Duckworth–Lewis method. Bangladesh vs Australia match also engulfed by the rain. England defeated New Zealand by 87 runs on June 6. Whereas Bangladesh won the match against New Zealand by five wickets on June 9. England beaten Australia by 40 runs on June 10.


Whereas in Group B, Pakistan suffer humiliating defeat against India by 124 runs on June 4. South Africa won the match against Sri Lanka by 96 runs  on June 3. Pakistan beaten South Africa by 19 runs under Duckworth–Lewis method on June 7. Sri Lanka won the match against India by seven wickets on June 8.

Whereas South Africa beaten India by 8 wickets on June 11 and Pakistan defeated Sri Lanka by three wickets to reach in the semifinal on June 12.

Pakistani made it to the semi-final after a suspense-filled win against Sri Lanka. Indian, the second Group B team, has also managed to crave out itself out a place in the semis. Pakistan and England will face off in the first semifinal of the ICC Champions Trophy today.

Related News:

Capricious Pak can Maintain its Streak Against Eng in Semi

CT17:Pakistan Crush England, Qualify For Final First Time