Abb Takk News

Quetta Gladiators Crowned HBL PSL 4 Champion

KARACHI: Quetta Gladiators have defeated Peshawar Zalmi by eight wickets in final of Pakistan Super League.

Quetta Gladiators achieved the 139-run target set by Peshawar Zalmi in the last bowl of 18th over of the match by losing two wickets.

Ahmed Shahzad played unbeaten 59-run innings while Rilee Rossouw also remained not out on 39 runs. Ahsan Ali and Shan Watson scored 25 and 7 runs respectively.

Muhammad Husnain of Quetta Gladiators awarded man of the match as he took three-wining-wickets of Peshawar Zalmi.

Quetta Gladiators for the first time have won the PSL trophy earlier Islamabad United twice a time and Peshawar Zalmi once have won the PSL trophies.

Earlier,  Peshawar Zalmi had set a meager target of 139-run to Quetta Gladiators in final of Pakistan Super League season four.

Quetta Gladiators opted to field first after winning the toss and invited Peshawar Zalmi to bat who scored 138 runs after losing eight wickets.

Umar Ameen, Sohaib Maqsood were prominent players of the Peshawar as they scored 38 and 20 runs respectively while Muhammad Husnain of Quetta Gladiators three-vital-wickets.

Darren Sammy, captain of Peshawar Zalmi said that we will try to show the best performance of the PSL four at the national stadium Karachi.

Earlier, Army Chief Gen Qamar Javed Bajwa reached stadium accompanied with DG ISPR Major General Asif Ghafoor.

Minister of the state for Interior Shaharyar Afridi is also among the guests at the stadium besides Chief Minister Sindh Murad Ali Shah, Governor Sindh Imran Ismael and other provincial leaders.

Just before the much awaited final  Pakistan Super League concluding ceremony began where one-minute silence observed for the massacre of the Muslims in Christchurch, New Zealand on Friday.

Fakhar-e-Alam hosted the ending ceremony of the PSL season four.

Addressing the crowd at the National Stadium Karachi, Pakistan Cricket Board Chairman Ahsan Mani thanked people of Karachi making the PSL season four matches successful from their passionate participation.

It is pertinent to mention here that Karachi hosted eight matches of the season including today’s final.

Chief Minister Sindh Syed Murad Ali Shah addressing the ending ceremony said the provincial government next effort will to bring international cricket to Karachi as eight matches of the PSL four season held successfully in the city.

Peshawar Zalmi and Quetta Gladiators have been, indisputably, the top two teams in the PSL this season, winning seven of their ten league matches each. But on the head-to-head record, Quetta have the upper hand, winning all three games between the two sides throughout this season.

Both teams have unique and formidable strengths, with Peshawar relying heavily on their pace attack, to the extent they went into the crunch Eliminator against Islamabad without Liam Dawson.

Quetta’s spinners have, on the other hand, made key contributions to their run to the final, led by Mohammad Nawaz. In addition, the experience of Sohail Tanvir and the raw pace of Mohammad Hasnain have lent a diverse set of attributes to the attack.

Both sides are laden with match-winners for every situation. What bodes well for the final is almost every player from both sides is in form, firing in all departments. In previous years, Quetta had issues with their overseas players not touring Pakistan, but on this occasion, full contingents from both sides are present in Karachi. While both sides play their third final, Peshawar have the advantage of experiencing victory in the PSL final in 2017, while Quetta are yet to get over the line.

The final is expected to be a full house with 32,000 spectators, helped by Quetta Gladiators being captained by local boy Sarfaraz Ahmed. Peshawar are always a popular team, led by the ever-affable Darren Sammy.

Quetta Gladiators: 1 Shane Watson, 2 Ahmed Shahzad, 3 Ahsan Ali, 4 Rilee Rossouw, 5 Umar Akmal, 6 Sarfaraz Ahmed (capt & wk), 7 Dwayne Bravo, 8 Mohammad Nawaz, 9 Sohail Tanvir, 10 Mohammad Hasnain, 11 Anwar Ali/Fawad Ahmed

The main question for Peshawar is whether to play Liam Dawson, which gives them an extra spinning all-around option or to stick with the quick death-overs specialist Chris Jordan.

Peshawar Zalmi: 1 Kamran Akmal (wk), 2 Imam ul Haq, 3 Sohaib Maqsood, 4 Umar Amin, 5 Misbah ul Haq, 6 Kieron Pollard, 7 Chris Jordan/Liam Dawson, 8 Darren Sammy (capt), 9 Wahab Riaz, 10 Hasan Ali, 11 Tymal Mills

Pitch and conditions

The National Stadium has changed dramatically since its redevelopment. With the ground inactive for lengthy stretches of time, the grass was allowed to breathe, and the soil gave a rest. Recent totals suggest this could be another high-scoring affair, and both teams have a real decision to make about what to do at the toss. A cool breeze is expected to blow for the duration of the match, but the morning rains that have been a feature across the past week should not impede a full game.