Abb Takk News

ICC Awards ODI Status to All Asia Cup Matches

Dubai (September 10, 2018): International Cricket Council has awarded ODI status to all matches of Asia cup. Along with five Asian test match countries, qualifier team of Hong Kong is also included in the tournament.

The International Cricket Council has confirmed that it has awarded ODI status to all matches in the upcoming Asia Cup. This tournament will take place in Abu Dhabi and Dubai from September 15-28.In this six nation tournament, five Asian test countries included are Pakistan, India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan, along with sixth qualifier team of Hong Kong. Hong Kong defeated UAE in six nations qualifier tournament, to enter the main round of Asia cup.

A total of 13 matches will be played in the tournament. ICC Chief Executive David Richardson said, ‘to grant ODI status to all matches in the Asia Cup is a positive step taken by the ICC Board as we continue to take an in-depth look at international cricket structures in relation to our long-term ambition of growing the game and adding to the one billion fans who already follow the sport’.

Qualifier team of Hong Kong is included in group A, with Pakistan and India, and will play its first match on September 16 against Pakistan. Hong Kong will play opposite India on September 18, and now both of these matches will be ODI matches.

Related News:

Asia Cup Trophy Unveiled in Abu Dhabi

Pakistan Announces 16 Member Squad For Asia Cup