Abb Takk News

ICC Women’s World T20 Begins in West Indies From Today

Sports Desk (November 09, 2018): Sixth Edition ICC Women’s World T20 will kick-off the in West Indies today. This Mega event will start from November 09 and continue till November 24.

Ten teams will take part in the competition where three venues in West Indies will be used for all the World Cup matches.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

The 10-team T20 tournament will continue till 24th of this month. Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the West Indies will participate in the tournament.

Total 10 teams will be divided into 2 groups, Group A and Group B.

Group A:  Bangladesh, England, South Africa, Sri Lanka and West Indies.

Group B:  Australia, India, Ireland, New Zealand and Pakistan.

After five tournaments played in parallel with the men’s event, the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 finally holds its first standalone edition. The hosts are also the defending champions after their victory in India in 2016. England, meanwhile, are hoping for a repeat of 2009, when they won the inaugural competition while still holding the 50-over Women’s World Cup – which they won again on home soil last year.

Three-time winners Australia remain strong, while World Cup runners-up India, perennial semi-finalists New Zealand and improving South Africa will also fancy their chances.

Meanwhile, the game’s shortest format will allow Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Ireland to dream of overturning the form book.

Related News:

Training Camp For Pak Women Cricket Team From Sep 10

Pakistan To Produce Deaf Women Cricket Team