Abb Takk News

Imran, Shehbaz Set For Big Battle Today

Islamabad (August 17, 2018): PTI Chairman Imran Khan and PML (N) President Shahbaz Sharif are vying for the top slot of the leader of the house in the National Assembly as Pakistan Peoples Party and JI have decided to attend today’s session but not to vote for any candidate.

According to the details, the National Assembly will elect the country’s 22nd prime minister today. The two candidates  Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan and PML-N President Shehbaz Sharif are in the run, whose nomination papers were accepted earlier.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

Nomination papers on their behalf were submitted by their party leaders in the National Assembly secretariat on Wednesday.

Election for the office will be held today, for which the session of the National Assembly has already been summoned at 3.30 in the afternoon.The election shall be through division as enshrined in the rules of procedures and conduct of the National Assembly 2007.

On the other hand, the rift between two major opposition parties Pakistan Peoples Party and Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz has widen, as PPP has withdrawn its support to PML N’s Prime Ministerial candidate Shehbaz Sharif. JI has also decided to remain silent.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

Earlier, in a conversation with reporters in capital Islamabad today, Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) leader Khursheed Shah  said his party has apprised Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) of its reservations over PML N candidate for prime ministership.

Shah said if the PML-N does not change its PM candidate, then the PPP will make a decision accordingly.“We have told PML-N of our reservations, we are working on [resolving it]. [But] if they don’t change their candidate then we will [make our own] decision,” he said.

The final decision will be taken after consultation with party chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari and co-chairman Asif Zardari, Shah added.

Numbers game
With the loss of the PPP (54 seats), Shehbaz Sharif will now face an almost impossible task to be elected as prime minister. The PML-N has 81 seats in the National Assembly and it is yet unclear if the party will still be supported by the MMA (15 seats) and ANP (1 seat).On the other hand, Imran Khan’s PTI has 151 seats and with the support of its allies, the total stands at 175 which is more than the required simple majority.

On Wednesday, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chairman Imran Khan submitted his nomination papers for the slot of Prime Minister.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

Awami Muslim League (AML) chief Sheikh Rasheed suggested the Imran Khan’s name for the Leader of the House while Fakhar Imam supported his nomination.

It is pertinent here to mention that on August 7, the PTI had formally nominated party’s supremo Imran Khan as their candidate for country’s next prime minister.

PTI vice president Shah Mehmood Qureshi presented a resolution nominating Imran as their PM candidate during a parliamentary meeting held at a private hotel in Islamabad after which, the party chairman was welcomed with a huge applause.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

Addressing the participants after his nomination, Imran Khan thanked the members for showing their trust in him. The change for which PTI had been struggling for 22 years will now going to be witnessed, he added.

Expected members from PTI in federal cabinet

Earlier, sources told Abb Takk that Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Chairman and Prime Minister-in-waiting Imran Khan has short-listed the names for his upcoming federal cabinet.

According to the details, Asad Umar and Shah Mehmood Qureshi will join as federal ministers in the forthcoming cabinet.Fawad Chaudhry will be appointed as information minister, whereas Imran Khan will keep the portfolio of foreign minister to himself.  The sources said that Imran Khan wanted to choose federal cabinet before he sworn in as prime minister.Shireen Mazari is also interested for the post however possibilities exist of her being made the Defence Minister.

PTI’s Asad Qaiser Elected Speaker NA

Earlier, PTI Asad Qaiser had sworn in as the 21st speaker for the National Assembly amid opposition‘s protest.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

Qaiser bagged 176 votes while PPP’s Syed Khurshid Shah received 146 in the secret balloting process. A total of 330 votes were cast among which eight were rejected.

Meanwhile, PTI‘s Qasim Khan Suri had taken oath as the 21st deputy speaker for the assembly.

Qasim Khan Suri secured 183 votes whereas joint candidate of opposition party Maulana Asad Mehmood only obtained 144 votes. A total of 330 votes were cast among which one vote was rejected.

General Election 2018

On July 25, millions of Pakistanis voted to elect a new government and prime minister in a peaceful elections held in free, fair and transparent manner.Around 800,000 police and military forces were stationed at more than 85,000 polling stations across the country as the voting took place.

Pakistan is a country of approximately 207 million people, out of which the number of registered voters are about 106 million.

The voting for the Pakistan election, which took place between 8:00 am local time (8:30 am IST) and 6:00 pm (6:30 pm IST), saw more than 3,000 candidates contesting for 272 general seats of the National Assembly, while some 8,000 candidates ran for 577 general seats of the four provincial assemblies – Punjab, Sindh, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, and Balochistan.The PTI had taken the decisive lead by winning 116 seats against former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif s Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and former President Asif Zardari s Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP) which won 64 and 43 seats, respectively.

Besides these three major parties, Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal Pakistan won 13 seats, Muttahida Qaumi Movement Pakistan six seats, Pakistan Muslim League and Balochistan Awami Party four seats each, Balochistan National Party and Grand Democratic Alliance two seats each, Awami Muslim League Pakistan, Awami National Party, Jamhoori Wattan Party and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaniat one seat each.

Related News:

PTI Nominates Imran Khan As Prime Minister Candidate

PTI To Start ‘Naya Pakistan’ From Punjab: Imran Khan