Abb Takk News

India Defeat South Africa By Six-Wicket

SOUTHAMPTON: India started its world cup journey with a comfortable six-wicket win against South Africa who faced consecutive third defeat in the 8th match of the world cup.

South Africa captain Faf du Plessis won the toss and batted but a superb double strike by Jasprit Bumrah left his side reeling.

India leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal then took four wickets in a meager total of 227 for nine.

India, with Rohit Sharma, dropped early in an innings of 122 not out – the highest individual score of the tournament to date – took their time over the chase before winning with 15 balls to spare.

For South Africa, a third straight defeat in as many matches this World Cup left their hopes of qualifying for the semi-finals on a knife edge.

Team Squad 

India: Virat Kohli (capt), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Kedar Jadhav, M.S.Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah


South Africa: Faf du Plessis (capt), Quinton de Kock, Hashim Amla, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, JP Duminy, Andile Phehlukwayo, Chris Morris, Kagiso Rabada, Imran Tahir, Tabraiz Shamsi