Abb Takk News

India Name 15-Man Squad for ICC World Cup

NEW DELHI: India named the 15-man squad for the International Cricket Council (ICC) World Cup 2019 on Monday.

Ambati Rayudu and Rishabh Pant were the biggest exclusions while Vijay Shankar, Dinesh Karthik and Jadeja have been included in the team.

KL Rahul has been included as a backup opener to Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan, Indian media reported. India became the third team to announce their 15-man squad for the mega event after Australia and New Zealand. However, the deadline set by the ICC to announce squads for the World Cup is April 23.

India will open their campaign with the match against South Africa on June 5. Pakistan-India square off will take place on June 16.

Final squad: Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Vijay Shankar, MSD (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohd Shami