Abb Takk News

Jubilant Activists Celebrate PML-N Triumph In NA-154

Lodhran (February 13, 2018): Jubilant activists of Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz (PML-N) celebrated their party’s victory in NA-154 Lodhran by-elections and held a spectacular display fireworks in Multan.

The Jubilant activists were dancing and chanting slogans in support of their party and beloved leader Nawaz Sharif.Sweets were also distributed on the occasion. They were of the view that Lodhran by-election result has set the tone for 2018 polls.

Earlier  PML-N won the by-polls for the constituency of NA-154 Lodhran with clear cut majority and modest margin.According to unofficial and unconfirmed results from all 338 polling stations, PML-N’s Iqbal Shah managed to attain 112,730 votes, while his competitor, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf’s Ali Tareen, contesting his first election on his father’s seat, attained 85,326 votes.

Click Play Button to Watch this Video

The seat fell vacant in the wake of the disqualification of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leader Jahangir Tareen by the Supreme Court in December 2017.

The government had deployed 4,000 security personnel, including army personnel, in the constituency in view of avoiding any unforeseen development and to ensure free and fair conduct.NA 154 By-poll: RO Summons Ali Tarin, Ameer BalochLodhran NA-154 by-election was organised after Supreme Court of Pakistan (SCP) disqualified Member of National Assembly (MNA) Jahangir Khan Tareen in a corruption probe in January.

Earlier, the polling process started at 8am and ended at 5pm.Polling Continues In NA-154 Lodhran By-PollIn total, 338 polling stations were set up in the constituency, where 431,002 voters were expected to exercise their right to vote.Overall, a low turnout has been witnessed in the by-election.

The Supreme Court, in its judgment in December 2017, had said that Jahanghir Tareen had pleaded guilty to insider trading and ruled that he cannot be termed honest and stands disqualified for life as per Article 62(1)(f) of the Constitution.

Fines imposedBoth the candidates were fined for violating the code of conduct during polling in the Lodhran by-elections. Tareen was fined Rs 40,000 by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) while Shah was directed to submit Rs 50,000 as penalty.

According to a notification issued in this regard, Shah was fined because “as per reports received in the office of the DRO, Abdul Rehman Khan Kanju MNA/Minister of State appeared to have attended/addressed corner meetings for promoting election campaign of Muhammad Iqbal Shah.”Ali Tareen was fined because “2018 Election Commission’s Monitoring Team reported to the undersigned that Imran Khan, Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Murad Saeed and Sheikh Rasheed (all MNA’s) attended and addressed a gathering in the constituency in the presence of Ali Khan Tareen.”

Jahangir Tareen disqualified

Ex-secretary general of PTI Jahangir Khan Tareen was disqualified on January 6 as the apex court delivered its verdict in assets beyond means petitions against PTI chief Imran Khan and Tareen.Imran Khan was able to retain his National Assembly (NA) seat unlike his political rival PML-N president Nawaz Sharif in a like probe. However, Jahangir Tareen, elected to the NA in General Elections 2013 from Lodhran NA-154 constituency, was disqualified in the case.

The party issued ticket to Ali Khan Tareen, son of the disqualified lawmaker to contest the NA seat against Iqbal Shah among other candidates in the by-poll held today.

Related News:

Shehbaz, Maryam Congratulate Party On Its Victory in NA 154

NA-154 By-election: PML-N Claims Victory With Majority