Abb Takk News

Khawaja Saad Rafique Challenges NA-131 Result

Lahore (July 27, 2018): Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Saad Rafique on Friday challenged his opponent Imran Khan’s victory in NA-131 Lahore, alleging irregularities in the vote count process.

Rafique, who lost to the PTI chairman in the constituency in a closely-fought contest has filed a complaint with the returning officer alleging that the presiding officer deliberately rejected hundreds of votes.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

Rafique submitted a petition in this regard to Returning Officer (RO) Muhammad Akhtar Bhango.

The plea maintained that the presiding officer rejected hundreds of votes deliberately. The former Railways Minister has demanded a recount in the constituency as PTI chief won by a close margin.

In a major upset on Wednesday, Khan thrashed PML-N’s strong candidate Khawaja Saad Rafique in NA-131 while clean sweeping four other constituencies.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

According to unofficial election results, Imran Khan obtained 84,313 votes in a nail-biting contest against Saad Rafique who secured 83,633 votes.

Khan clinched the victory with a lead of 680 votes.

While official results were yet to be announced by the electoral commission, the PTI party is leading in early election results, winning 114 of the 272 seats in the National Assembly.

PTI Leading With 110 Seats In National Assembly: ECP

According to the details released by ECP, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) is leading in National Assembly with 110 seats, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz, 62, Pakistan Peoples Party, 42, Independent Candidates 12, Muthaida Majlis-e-Amal, 11, Pakistan Muslim League-Q, 02, Muthaida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan, 2, Grand Democratic Alliance, 2 and Awami Muslim League, Awami National Party, Balochistan National Party and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaniat secured one seat each.

Related News:

GE Results: PPP Huddle To Meet Today

MMA To Hold APC Meeting Today Over Alleged Rigged Polls