Abb Takk News

Bilawal Rejects Election Results, Demands CEC To Resign

Karachi (July 27, 2018): Chairman Pakistan Peoples Party Bilawal Bhutto Zardari has rejected the 2018 election results and said that his party is trying hard to save parliamentary democracy.

Addressing media in Karachi after important PPP huddle, Bilawal demanded Chief Election Commissioner of Pakistan to resign over failure to conduct transparent polls.

Click Play Button To Watch The Video

Bilawal Bhutto Zardari rejected the election process and claimed the General Election 2018 was not free and fair.

ECP is responsible for carrying out transparent polls, Bilawal said, adding that the electoral body failed in its task.

“We don’t accept the results of the elections,” he stressed.

The PPP scion further added that the party will take the matter to parliament. “PPP will sit in opposition in the centre,” he said.

The PPP did not attend the All Parties Conference, which was held in Islamabad on the call of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz and Muttahida Qaumi Movement.Apologising over their failure to attend the meeting, the PPP had informed Fazlur Rehman that party representatives could not come to the APC due to the meeting of party stalwarts in Karachi.

Earlier, a multi-party conference (MPC) called in capital Islamabad to devise a joint strategy over alleged rigging in the 2018 general elections on Friday rejected the results of the poll, demanding a “transparent” re-election.

All the political parties, who have the reservation on poll results were invited for APC to devised the future course of action.

The meeting, which was chaired by PML-N president Shehbaz and JUI-F chief Fazalur Rehman focused on parties’ plan of action regarding the results of the General Election 2018. APC was held at JI leader Mian Aslam’s house in Sector F-8.Head of Qaumi Watan Party (QWP) Aftab Sherpao, chief minister Gilgit Baltistan Sardar Mehtab, Khurram Dastgir, Sirjual Haq, Akram Durrani, AJK PM, Governor Sindh Muhammad Zubair and MQMs’ Farooq Sattar attended the meeting.

Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan leader Dr Farooq Sattar also attended the All Parties Conference contrary to Rabitta Committee’s decision.Addressing along with Moulana Fazalur Rehman, former Chief Minister Punjab said that all the participants of APC agreed to start agitation against the rigged elections, however it will decide whether to take oath or not by coming Sunday after the party consultation.

However, he added, that the decision of the PML-N will be confirmed later.

Shehbaz explained that he needs time to discuss the proposition with the central executive committee of the PML-N. “I need time to discuss if we will take the oath or not,” he said.

Reiterating his earlier claims, Shehbaz said that votes were rigged.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

Addressing reporters after the important meeting, Moulana Fazl said that pro democracy political parties will not allow anyone to steal the people’s mandate.

“People have been robbed of their mandate,” Fazlur Rehman said, added, “people claiming victory in the elections, we reject their claims as well.”

He remarked: “We want democracy. We have sacrificed so much for democracy to prosper in the country.” People who think they have won fairly should know that they have no real power, he said.He further said that they will organise protest demonstrations in different parts of the country till elections are held again.

It is pertinent to note that main political parties such as Pakistan Peoples Party and Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan did not attend the APC.

With regards to the parties who didn’t attend the APC, he said that they will be contacted once again and asked to be a part of their struggle.Earlier, The PPP and MQM-P decided not to attend a multi-party conference (MPC).

The provisional, official poll results late Thursday showed the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), headed by cricketer-turned-politician Imran Khan, in lead.

Related News:

PTI Announces To Form Govt in Center, KP, Punjab

PML N, PTI Locked in Battle To Form Next Punjab Govt