Abb Takk News

Mini-budget: Opposition Parties Decide To Record Protest In NA

ISLAMABAD: Opposition parties on Wednesday showed unity to lodge strong protest against the federal government against announcement of mini-budget in the National Assembly (NA) today.

The united opposition also planned to record its protest against the Sahiwal shooting incident during the Wednesday’s NA session.

The decisions were finalised in a meeting chaired by Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) president and the Opposition Leader in the NA, Shehbaz Sharif. It was decided that the opposition will oppose the mini-budge and a walk-out could be made from the Upper House.

Sources said that the opposition parties expressed severe concerns over bringing the mini-budget. Participants said that the federal government wanted to put additional Rs200 billion tax burden on the nationals.

Moreover, the united opposition finalised names for formation of parliamentary committee. The committee will forward recommendations for opposition’s future strategies in and outside the Parliament House.

Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, Khawaja Saad Rafique, Ahsan Iqbal, Rana Sanaullah, Murtaza Abbasi and Javed Abbasi were named from the PML-N while Khursheed Shah, Raja Pervaiz Ashraf, Sherry Rehman and Naveed Qamar will represent the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP). Alia Kamran of Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA) and Ameer Haider Hoti of Awami National Party (ANP) will also represent their political parties in the opposition’s parliamentary committee.