Abb Takk News

Mian Soomro Refuses To Take Oath As State Minister

Islamabad (September 11, 2018): Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leader Muhammad Mian Soomro on Tuesday refused to take the oath as state minister and returned to Karachi.

The federal government had decided to induct Soomro as the Federal Minister for Privatisation.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

However, sources said that Soomro was informed a few hours before the oath-taking ceremony that he was being inducted as state minister.

Sources close to Soomro said, “He has served on top posts such as former caretaker prime minister and former Senate chairman and feels it is not appropriate that he be appointed state minister.”

Earlier today, six new members took oath as Ministers in the Federal Cabinet in a ceremony held at the Presidency.Six New Ministers Take Oath In PM’s Federal CabinetPresident Arif Alvi administered the oath to the nominated federal ministers and ministers of state Omar Ayub Khan, Ali Muhammad Khan Mehar, Syed Ali Haider Zaidi, Muhammad Shabir Ali, Murad Saeed and Muhammad Hammad Azhar.

Omar Ayub Khan, Ali Muhammad Khan Mehar and Syed Ali Haider Zaidi are the new federal ministers who took the oath.

While, Muhammad Shabir Ali, Murad Saeed and Muhammad Hammad Azhar have been inducted as state ministers.

The respective portfolios of new ministers will be announced later.

Earlier on September 08the Prime Minister Imran Khan extended the federal cabinet by inducting four new ministers, a statement issued by the PM House said.On August 19Prime Minister of Pakistan finalized his cabinet comprised of 15 ministers and five advisors.

  • Asad Umar                           Finance Minister
  • Shah Mehmood Qureshi   Foreign Minister
  • Chaudhary Tariq Bashir    State and Frontier Region
  • Noorul Haq Qadri              Religious Affairs and Interfaith Harmony
  • Shireen Mazari                   Human Rights
  • Ghulam Sarwar Khan       Petroleum Division
  • Zubaida Jalal                      Defence Production
  • Shafqat Mehmood             Federal Education and professional training
  • Fawad Chaudhry                Information and Broadcasting Division
  • Sheikh Rasheed                  Railways
  • Amir Mehmood Kiyani     National Health Services
  • Farogh Naseem                  Law and Justice
  • Pervez Khattak                   Defence
  • Fehmida Mirza                   Inter-provincial Coordination
  • Khalid Mqbool Siddiquie Information Technology and Telecommunication

Five advisers are Mohammad Shehzad, Ishrat Hussain, Abdul Razzak Dawood, Amin Aslam and Babar Awan.

Related News: