Abb Takk News

NA-154: PTI, PML-N Candidates Fined Over ECP Code Violation

Islamabad (February 12, 2018): Election Commission of Pakistan on Monday slapped Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf and Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz candidates with a fine for violating code of conduct and allowing lawmakers to attend their public meetings.

According to a letter issued by the ECP, PTI candidate Ali Tareen and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s (PML-N) candidate Iqbal Shah were slapped with a fine of Rs40,000 and Rs30,000 respectively.

It is pertinent to mention here that polling continued in NA-154 constituency of Lodhran which fell vacant after the Supreme Court of Pakistan disqualified Jahangir Khan Tareen under article 62 and 63 on Monday.The voting process in the constituency began at 8:00 am and would continue uninterrupted till 5:00 pm.

Ten candidates have been contesting the by-polls, including the ones from Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf and Pakistan Peoples Party. A tough contest between Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz and Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf candidates is expected in the constituency.

Election Commission of Pakistan has established 338 polling stations and 1045 polling booths for the election process in the constituency. More than 431,000 voters including 226,000 men and 194,000 women would use their right to cast vote.

Giving details, the ECP letter stated that Ali Tareen was fined because “2018 Election Commission’s Monitoring Team reported to the undersigned that Imran Khan, Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Murad Saeed and Sheikh Rasheed (all MNA’s) attended and addressed a gathering in the constituency in the presence of Ali Khan Tareen.”

Giving justification for imposing fine on PML-N candidate, the ECP letter stated that Shah was slapped with a fine because “as per reports received in the office of the DRO, Abdul Rehman Khan Kanju MNA/Minister of State appeared to have attended/addressed corner meetings for promoting election campaign of Muhammad Iqbal Shah.”

Related News:

Polling Continues In NA-154 Lodhran By-Poll

NA 154 By-poll: RO Summons Ali Tarin, Ameer Baloch