Abb Takk News

NA-246 by-election: 25 nomination papers approved

ISLAMABAD: Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) approved 25 nomination papers of the contestants on final day of scrutiny for upcoming by-election on NA-246 constituency scheduled on April 27, 2015.

Nomination papers were scrutinised in Deputy Commissioners Office (Central Zone) where 25 contestants got clearance while two applicants were rejected including independent candidate Ashraf Ali Qureshi and Muhammad Rehan of ruling Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N).

The National Assembly seat went vacant following resignation of former Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) leader Nabeel Gabol in Karachi.

However, the contestants include four each from MQM and Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), eight from Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), three from Jamaat-e-Islami (JI), three independent candidates, two of Pasban and one from ruling PML-N.