Abb Takk News

NA-4 By-polls: ECP Bans Teachers’ Transfer, Posting

Peshawar (October 12, 2017): The Election Commission of Pakistan has imposed ban on transfer and posting of the teachers, who will perform duties during the by-election in constituency NA-4 Peshawar on October 16.

 ECP has informed the teachers about their duties on October 16. The selected teachers will be provided trading ahead of the by-elections.

A tough and interesting contest is expected to be held among candidates in the by-election for NA-4 seat that will be held on October 26.  The seat fall vacant after the demise of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) dissident Member National Assembly (MNA) Gulzar Khan.

According to details shared by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), the contest would be held among Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Nasir Khan Mosazai, Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) candidate Asad Gulzar, PTI’s Arbab Amir Ayub Khan, Awami National Party (ANP) candidate Khushdil Khan, Jamaat-e-Islami (JI) candidate Wasil Farooq Chamkani, and a number of independent candidates.

The PPP had nominated Gulzar Khan’s son, Asad Gulzar, as its candidate for the by-election after he joined the party recently. This by-election is being seen as crucial as the one that took place in NA-120 Lahore last month, since it was considered a barometer to gauge the popularity of PML-N in its traditional stronghold. Likewise, the NA-4 by poll would also serve as an indicator of the strength of the leading political parties in the province for the next general elections.

In the general election of 2013, PTI’s Gulzar Khan had won the election by securing 55,134 votes, while PML-N’s Nasir Khan Mosazai was runner-up with 20,412 votes. Currently, the candidates belonging to different political parties have intensified their election campaign and the central leaders have also started to visit the NA-4 constituency to secure voter support in their favour.

Related News:

ECP to Use 150 EVMS in Upcoming By-Elections in NA-4 Peshawar

NA-4 By-poll: JUI-F Candidate Withdraws in Favour of PML-N