Abb Takk News

NA 53: Nominations of Former PM Abbasi, Gullali Rejected

Islamabad(June 19, 2018): The Election Commission of Pakistan on Tuesday rejected the nomination papers of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chief Imran Khan, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz leaders Shahid Khaqan Abbasi and Sardar Mehtab Abbasi, along with Ayesha Gulalai for the NA-53 constituency of Islamabad.

The nominations of the politicians were rejected over violation of Section N of the affidavit, which relates to the contribution of a candidate in his or her own constituency.According to the returning officer, the candidates failed to fill the affidavit as per the requirements.

The candidates have vowed to challenge the decision in the election tribunal tomorrow (Wednesday).

Earlier, returning Officer of NA-131 had accepted nomination papers of PTI Chief Imran Khan.

Former CJP, Iftikhar Chaudhry had challenged nomination papers of Imran Khan.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video Imran Khan was asked to appear in person today by the RO, but he was unable to appear due to his busy schedule.

Yesterday, Lawyer Babar Awan submitted the reply on behalf of his client Imran Khan.

Imran’s nomination papers for NA-131 present a tax figure different than what is mentioned in his tax returns filed with FBR.

The objection against Imran Khan was raised by a candidate of the Justice and Democratic Party led by the former chief justice of Pakistan Iftikhar Mohammed Chaudhry.The erstwhile top judge claimed Imran was ineligible to hold public office under Article 62(1)(f) of the Constitution because he fathered a child out of wedlock with Sita White.

Meanwhile, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) will complete the process of scrutiny of nomination papers filed by candidates for upcoming general elections on Tuesday(today).

Click Play Button To Watch This Video 

According to Election Commission, a total of 21,482 nomination papers have been filed across the country for national and provincial assemblies.

Six thousand sixty three candidates are contesting for 342 seats of the National Assembly while 15419 nomination papers have been filed for the provincial assemblies’ seats.As per the election schedule, appeals against rejection or acceptance of nomination papers can be filed by 22nd of this month.

The Appellate Tribunals will decide the appeals by 27th, after which the revised list of candidates will be published on 28th of this month.

Candidates can withdraw their nomination papers by 29th June and the electoral body will announce the final list of candidates the same day.

Electoral symbols will be issued to candidates on 30th June while polling will be held on 25th of next month.Meanwhile, in a statement, ECP spokesman Altaf Khan has said that time for scrutiny of nomination papers will not be extended.

He said there is no proposal under consideration in this regard.

In Sindh province, during scrutiny process in Karachi today (Monday), nomination papers of Shehla Raza of PPP for NA-243 Karachi East, Dr. Amir Liaquat Hussain of PTI for NA-245, Rauf Siddiqui of MQM for NA-243 and NA 244 and Masroor Qadri of JUP for NA-239 were accepted.

Returning officer reserved the decision on the nomination papers filed by Khawaja Izharul Hassan of MQM Pakistan and he has again been summoned tomorrow for scrutiny of papers.In Karachi, total 577 candidates have filed nomination papers for 21 NA seats and 1253 candidates have submitted papers for 44 provincial assembly seats in the provincial metropolis.

According to details, scrutiny of nomination papers of candidates is continuing in all six districts of Karachi.

The Provincial Election Commission Khyber Pakhtunkhwa today completed scrutiny of twenty-two nomination papers for nine seats reserved for women in the National Assembly.

According to a spokesman of Provincial Election Commission Sohail Ahmad, scrutiny of thirty-seven nomination papers for women reserved seats in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly has been completed.Similarly, scrutiny of nineteen nomination papers filed for three seats reserved for minorities in the provincial Assembly has also been completed.

Maryam Nawaz, the daughter of  Former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, was cleared to contest elections from Lahore’s NA-125 constituency on Monday after the returning officer (RO) accepted her nomination papers.

The decision came as RO Asif Bashir dismissed all objections raised during scrutiny of her nomination papers.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video:

Maryam is expected to contest on the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s ticket to contest the July 25 general elections from Lahore’s NA-125 and NA-127 constituency.

The NA-125 constituency, situated in the heart of Lahore, was the NA-120 constituency prior to the new delimitation of constituencies.NA-120 was bagged by former premier Nawaz in the 2013 elections and after his disqualification, by his wife Kulsoom Nawaz even though she did not take part in the campaign herself.

Maryam had spearheaded the NA-120 by-election campaign for her mother in 2017 following Nawaz’s disqualification. At the time, Kulsoom had defeated Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf candidate Dr Yasmin Rashid by over 14,000 votes.

Related News: