Abb Takk News

Nawaz Sharif Elected PML-N President Unopposed

Hafiz Abdul Majid 

Islamabad (October 03, 2017): Former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif was elected unopposed as president Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N).

The meeting of PML-N general council was scheduled for today. The council meeting was convened to elect new party head.

Click Play Button to Watch this Video 

On Tuesday morning, the former Prime Minister submitted his nomination papers with the party election commissioner.

As 10:00 am Tuesday was set as the deadline to submit nomination paper for the election of party head, no one except Nawaz Sharif submitted nomination papers within the given time.

Thus Nawaz was elected as President of PML-N unopposed.Earlier in the morning, PML-N leaders Dr Tariq Fazal Chaudhry, Rana Muhammad Afzal and other visited Convention Center Islamabad and submitted Nawaz’s nomination papers for the slot of party’s president.

Dr Tariq Fazal Chaudhry proposed Nawaz Sharif as candidate for party’s top slot while Rana Afzal has seconded his candidature.The general council of PML-N is meeting a day after central working committee of the party approved an amendment to the party’s constitution, paving Nawaz’s way to lead the party.

According to the party, the amendment to the party constitution was aimed at getting rid of the ‘dictator’s remnants’.In its meeting headed by the party’s interim president Senator Sardar Yaqub Nasir at Punjab House on Monday, the committee unanimously approved the amendment.

The party leaders expressed confidence and reaffirmed their trust in Nawaz Sharif. They also paid tribute to the former prime minister for his services during his tenure.The election is being held after the National Assembly on Monday passed the Elections Bill 2017, paving way for former prime minister Nawaz Sharif to regain chairmanship of the ruling party.

President Mamnoon Hussain has also signed the Bill into an act of parliament.A controversial clause in the bill — which was heavily criticized by the opposition — allows politicians disqualified for holding public office to lead political parties.

Related News: 

PML-N Elections: Nawaz Sharif’s Nomination Papers Submitted