Abb Takk News

New Judicial Year To Start From Today

ISLAMABAD: The New Judicial year 2019-2020 of Supreme Court of Pakistan will be commenced today while a ceremony of the new full court will be held today wherein Chief Justice of Pakistan Asif Saeed Khosa will address.

On January 17 ex-chief justice Saqib Nisar retired from the post and Asif Saeed Khosa joined the position on the very next day while two justice were retired in the judicial year 2018-2019 while Judge Justice Qazi Muhammad Amin appointed as a new judge of the SC in the same year.

The major verdicts which were given in the ended year included bail of ex-premier Nawaz Sharif, Judge Arshad Malik video scandal, setting parameters of bail in the cases of the NAB, Bani Gala encroachment case, Asia Masih contempt of religion case, Islamabad sit-in case, ever-growing population case, MD PTV Atta Ul Haq Qasmi appointment case, dual citizenship case and Memogate Scandal case.

In the same year, Justice Shaukat Aziz Siddique was removed after a case against him in Supreme Judicial Council, Justice Farrukh Irfan resigned while cases against justice Anwar Kansi and Chief Justice Saqib Nisar were disposed off.