New NA, KP Assemblies To Meet on Monday

New NA, KP Assemblies To Meet on Monday

Islamabad (August 10, 2018): President has summoned the session of National Assembly on Monday at 10 am in the morning. The first sitting of the session will see the newly elected MNAs taking oath of their office. Outgoing Speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq will administer oath to the newly elected members.

This will be followed by the elections of speaker, deputy speaker and leader of the house.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf has nominated its Chairman Imran Khan for the slot of leader of the house while PML (N) President Shahbaz Sharif has been fielded as joint candidate by the opposition. The opposition has also nominated Khurshid Shah for the slot of speaker.Meanwhile, special counters have been set up at National Assembly secretariat to facilitate and guide the newly elected members of the assembly.

These counters will help the elected lawmakers to get membership cards of the assembly and other information.

The counters will remain open from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

On the other hand, the Governor Khyber Pakhtunkhwa has also summoned the session of the newly elected provincial assembly in Peshawar on Monday next at 10:00 am.The newly elected members of Provincial Assembly will took oath of their offices.

The Assembly will also elect Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the house and Chief Minister of the province.

Earlier, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) on Friday nominated Asad Qaiser as speaker of the National Assembly and Chaudhry Mohammad Sarwar as governor of Punjab.

Talking to the newsmen outside Banigala, PTI Vice president, Shah Mahmood Qureshi told about the party’s nominations for the posts of NA speaker and Punjab governor.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

“We have clear majority in Punjab and we are in a position to form a government in the province,” Qureshi said.

Shah Mehmood Qureshi said that Asad Qaiser, who has previously served as speaker of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa assembly, brings a wealth of experience with him and enjoys an admirable relationship with all political parties.

Asad Qaiser won PK-44 Swabi 2 constituency on the PTI’s ticket with 31,658 votes, defeating ANP’s Gul Zamin Shah during the July 25 general election.

Qureshi thanked the political parties for supporting the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf in the National Assembly.Some PTI leaders have been tasked with contacting allies in Sindh and FATA.

President Mamnoon Hussain will administer the oath of Prime Minister office to new premier on August 17.

The president has postponed his plan to proceed to Ireland on a three-day official visit on Aug 16. The decision came during a meeting with caretaker Information Minister Ali Zafar.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

Zafar stressed that the presence of President Hussain is necessary for government formation.

Related News:

Asad Qaiser NA Speaker, Ch Sarwar Nominated As Governor Punjab

New PM To Take Oath On August 17

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top