Abb Takk News

Nomination For NA Speaker, Dy Speaker To Be Received Today

Islamabad (August 14, 2018): Nomination papers for the election of new Speaker and Deputy Speaker of National Assembly would be received by 12 noon today.

Nomination papers can be obtained from the National Assembly Secretariat and can be withdrawn anytime before the election process.

The election of Speaker and Deputy Speaker will be held tomorrow.

PTI candidate Asad Qaiser has already submitted nomination papers for the slot of the Speaker at the assembly secretariat.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

PTI has nominated Qasim Suri for the office of Deputy Speaker.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

Khurshid Shah and Asad Mahmood, the joint candidates of the opposition for the slot of Speaker and Deputy Speaker, have also obtained nomination papers from the national assembly secretariat.

Earlier, the first session of 15th National Assembly commenced on Monday as 329 members of the lower house of the parliament took oath after July 25 general elections.

Outgoing NA speaker Ayaz Sadiq presided over the historic session and administered oath to the MNAs-elect in the 342-member house.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

The session began with the MNAs-elect standing up for the national anthem and was followed by the recitation of the Holy Quran. The speaker then read out the procedure for the election of the new speaker and deputy speaker.

He then administered the oath to the MNAs-elect following which they signed the roll of members in alphabetical order. PPP leader Asif Ali Zardari was the first one to sign the roll register.

PM-in-waiting Imran Khan, PML-N president Shahbaz Sharif, PPP chairman Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari, co-chairman Asif Ali Zardari, Shireen Mazari, Asad Umer, Pervez Khattak, Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Marriyum Aurangzeb, Munazza Hassan, Shah Mehmood Qureshi among others attended the first session of the revamped House.PTI chief Imran Khan warmly met various political members including Bilawal and posed for a photograph with him.

Strict security arrangements were made for the occasion as at least a thousand security men were deployed in and outside the parliament building.

The Constitution makes it mandatory to convene NA session within 21 days of general elections. After the oath-taking ceremony, the speaker prorogued the NA session until August 15, when the new speaker and deputy speaker of the assembly will be elected.

Related News:

Asad Qaiser Submits Papers For Speaker NA Slot

PTI Nominates Qasim Suri For Deputy Speaker NA Slot