Abb Takk News

PCB announces ODI squad for West Indies series

LAHORE: Pakistan on Sunday announced the 16-member One Day International (ODI) team for three ODIs against the West Indies to be played in the United Arab Emirates starting from September 30.

The middle-order batsman Asad Shafiq has made a comeback to the ODI squad. The last ODI Asad played for Pakistan was against Zimbabwe last October in Harare. The PCB has retained Azhar Ali as skipper and T-20 captain Sarfaraz Ahmed as Vice Captain.

Pakistan will play three ODIs against the West Indies on Sept 30 and Oct 2 in Sharjah, and Oct 5 in Abu Dhabi.

Muhammad Hafeez, Omer Gul and Sammi Aslam has been dropped, while Umair Akmal, Asad Shaiq and Sohail Khan have been called in for the series.

“While picking the squad, the team management and skipper were consulted and all concerned gave their consent in this regard,” said a Pakistan Cricket Board statement.

The squad includes: Azhar Ali (Captain), Sarfraz Ahmed (Vice Captain), Sharjeel Khan, Babar Azam, Asad Shafiq, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Mohammad Rizwan, Muhammad Nawaz, Imad Wasim, Yasir Shah, Rahat Ali, Muhammad Amir, Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali and Sohail Khan.