Abb Takk News

Pakistan Women Cricket Squad for England Tour Announced

LAHORE: The Pakistan women’s selection committee has announced 15-member squads for next month’s three ICC Women’s Championship ODIs against England, which will be followed by three T20Is in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, from 9-20 December.

The women’s selection committee, chaired by Urooj Mumtaz, has made four changes in the ODI squad from the one which took on Bangladesh women in the two-match series at Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium earlier this month.

Right-handed batter Kaynat Hafeez and right-arm off-spinner Rameen Shamim have earned maiden call-ups, while all-rounder Nida Dar and left-arm orthodox Anam Amin have made returns. They have replaced Iram Javed, Kainat Imtiaz, Sadia Iqbal and Sana Mir (who has taken a break from international cricket).

There were four changes, as well, in the T20I line-up.

Fifteen-year-old leg-break bowler Aroob Shah has received a maiden call-up for the T20 squad after making an impressive ODI debut against Bangladesh.

Fatima Sana and Rameen have been recalled after they missed Pakistan’s last T20I assignment, the three-match T20I series against Bangladesh women, due to their participation in the ACC Emerging Women’s Teams Cup.

Nida, who returns after a stint with Sydney Thunder in the Rebel Big Bash League, will also be part of the squad.

The three ODIs, part of seventh-round fixture of the ICC Women’s Championship, serve Pakistan, ranked fifth in the eight-team table, with an opportunity to secure direct qualification in the ICC Women’s World Cup New Zealand 2021 by beating second-ranked England.

Pakistan, to date, have played 15 matches in the ICC Women’s Champions. They have won and lost an equal number of matches with one of them ending in a tie.

Top four teams by the end of the two-year cycle, which concludes next year, along with the hosts will secure berths in the upcoming World Cup.