Abb Takk News

Babar, Shadab Help Pakistan To Whitewash Aussies in T20 Series

Dubai (October 29, 2018): Opener Babar Azam struck a half-century and leg-spinner Shadab Khan claimed three wickets as Pakistan secured a 3-0 T20 series whitewash over Australia with a 33-run victory in Dubai on Sunday.

Azam’s 40-ball 50 lifted Pakistan to another challenging total of 150-5 before Shadab’s 3-19 helped bowl Australia out for 117 in 19.1 overs.

It is Pakistan’s first-ever whitewash against Australia in a limited-over series and their 10th series win under Sarfraz Ahmed since he took over as captain in September 2016.

Pakistan justified their world-number-one ranking in the shortest format of the game, following a 66-run thrashing in Abu Dhabi with an 11-run win in Dubai.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

Australia’s batting line-up never recovered from being bowled out for 89 in the first game.

Only Mitchell Marsh (21), Ben McDermott (21) and Alex Carey (20) looked like getting big scores on Sunday against a varied Pakistan attack.

Carey, promoted to open the innings, smashed two fours and two sixes in Imad Wasim’s first over of the innings but they lost wickets at regular intervals.

Skipper Aaron Finch failed yet again, scoring only one while Chris Lynn (15) and Glenn Maxwell (four) also inflicted little damage as seamer Hasan Ali finished with 2-14.

Earlier in first innings, Pakistan scored 150 runs for the lost of 5 wickets in their 20 overs against Australia in the third and last T20 match.It was a fine start for Pakistan in the powerplay at 54-0. They had a superb opening partnership of 93 runs, with Babar Azam bringing up his fourth fifty in the last five matches, and Sahibzada Farhan playing a handy foil with 39 runs.

But Australia picked wickets regularly thereafter, preventing them from running away in the last five overs. The visitors have failed to chase down similar scores and have already lost the series.

Pakistan XI: Sahibzada Farhan, Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed, Asif Ali, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Usman Khan Shinwari.

Australia XI: Aaron Finch, Alex Carey, Chris Lynn, Ben McDermott, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, D’Arcy Short, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa, Nathan Lyon.

Related News:

PCB Trolls Back ICC Over “Biscuit Trophy”

Pakistan Beat Aussies Again By 11 Runs, Clinch Series By 2-0