Abb Takk News

Parliamentary Committee Meeting For Appointment of CEC To Be Held Today

ISLAMABAD: The meeting of the Parliamentary Committee on Appointment of Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) and members of the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) is scheduled to be held today (Friday).

The meeting will be chaired by its Chairman Dr Shireen Mazari in which the government as and the opposition will present the new name of its nominee for the Chief Election Commissioner to the opposition formally for consideration.

The government and opposition have agreed on the names of members of the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) from Sindh and Balochistan and the announcement will be made after getting a consensus on the name of the Chief Election Commissioner (CEC).

From the government side Pervez Khattak, Senator Azam Swati, Ali Muhammad Khan, Fakhr Imam and Senator Naseeb Ullah will be in attendace besides Shireen Mazari as a Chairman of the committee.

Raja Pervez Asharaf, Rana Sanaullah, Mushahid Ullah Khan, Sheza Fatima Khawaja, Shahida Akhtar Ali and Sikandar Mendoro will attend the meeting from the opposition parties.