Abb Takk News

Party Position in NA, Provincial Assemblies After By-polls

Web Desk (October 15, 2018): The by-polls were held on 35 different National and Provincial constituencies on Sunday peacefully. According to the final results, Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz and Ruling Pakistan Tehreek Insaaf won 4 seats each, while two seats were won by Pakistan Muslim League Q and one from Bannu by JUI-F.

Pakistan Tehreek Insaaf Chief and Prime Minister Imran Khan has already called a crucial party meeting today to examine party’s poor performance in the by-polls, which were held on October 14.

The ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) was neck and neck with rival party Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) in the by-elections for the National Assembly.

In Punjab, the PML-N took home more seats, while, in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, the PTI won the majority of seats. The Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) bagged the two seats up for grabs Sindh and, in Balochistan, the Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) and independent candidates won the seats.

National Assembly:The ruling PTI entered the by-election with 151 seats. The party managed to bag four more seats but was unable to retain the NA-131 constituency in Lahore, which, instead, was won by their rival candidate, the PML-N’s Khawaja Saad Rafique.

The party also lost the NA-35 seat in Bannu to MMA’s Zahid Akram Durrani. Both these seats were won by Prime Minister Imran Khan in the 2018 general election.

The PTI also lost on NA-56, a seat it was successful on in the general election.

Seats the PTI won: NA-60, NA-243, NA-53 and NA-63.

The PML-N had a good showing in the by-election, winning four seats, including the coveted NA-131. Consequently, the party’s strength grew to 85 seats in the National Assembly. Party big-wigs Khawaja Saad Rafique (NA-131) and Shahid Khaqan Abbasi (NA-124), the former prime minister, won their seats.

Seats the PML-N won: NA-103, NA-131, NA-56 and NA-124.

The PML-Q successfully retained both seats vacated by Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi. Moonis Elahi won the NA-69 constituency while Chaudhry Salik Hussain bagged the NA-65 seat.

Punjab Assembly:The PML-N won six seats in Punjab as opposed to the four of the PTI, with independent candidates taking home two seats.

The PTI won the PP-272, PP-201, and PP-261 seats, as well as the PP-87 constituency, which it won unopposed. In September PTI also won PP-296 Rajanpur unopposed.

The PML-N won in the PP-3, PP-103, PP-164, PP-27, PP-165, and PP-292 constituencies. Of these, PP-3, PP-27, and PP-292 were won by the PTI in the 2018 general election.

Independent candidates were successful in PPP-22 and PP-118.

After the by-election, the PTI and the PML-N have 181 and 168 seats, respectively, in the Punjab Assembly.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly:The PTI won the majority of seats, securing six of the nine being contested. It won the PK-97, PK-99, PK-44, PK-53, PK61, and PK-64 constituencies.

The Awami National Party (ANP), on the other hand, increased its strength by two seats in the provincial assembly after winning PK-7 and PK-78, the former of which was won by the PTI in the 2018 general election.

The PML-N also took away a seat won by the PTI in the general election after the party bagged the PK-3 seat.

Sindh Assembly:
The Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) won both provincial assembly seats in Sindh — PS-30 and PS-87.

Balochistan Assembly:Nawab Aslam Raisani won the by-election as an independent candidate on the PB-35 constituency, while Muhammad Akbar of the Balochistan National Party (BNP) won from PB-40.Related News:

Complete Unofficial Results of By-election

ECP Issues Turnout Details of By-polls