Abb Takk News

Peshawar Zalmi Thrash Islamabad United By 13 Runs

Rawalpindi: Peshawar Zalmi on Sunday thrashed Islamabad United by 13 runs during the 29th fixture of the ongoing Pakistan Super League (PSL) at the Pindi Cricket Stadium in Rawalpindi.

Chasing a target of 180 runs, United were all out for 166 in 19.4 overs.

Earlier, Zalmi have set a 180-run target for United after the latter asked the former to bat first during the match.

Zalmi posted 179-8 in their allotted 20 overs with Mohammad Haris leading the way in the innings. The opener scored 79 runs in 39 balls with the help of seven fours and five sixes.

Bhanuka Rajapaksa contributed 41 runs in 25 balls which included four fours and two sixes.

Haris and Rajapaksa added 115 runs in 58 balls for the second wicket but the Zalmi innings faded away after their departure due to the regular fall of wickets.

Pacer Hasan Ali bagged three wickets, meanwhile, captain Shadab Khan claimed two scalps for Islamabad.

Babar Azam is not feeling well, which is why Tom Kohler-Cadmore is leading Peshawar Zalmi in today’s match.

It must be noted that Lahore Qalandars, Multan Sultans, United and Zalmi have already qualified for the playoffs, however, the knockout fixtures will be confirmed after today’s matches.

The result of the game ensures that both teams will lock horns in the Eliminator 1 of the ongoing PSL season.

Defending champions Lahore Qalandars, however, will face Multan Sultans in the Qualifier of the tournament.

Qualifier, the winner of which will qualify directly for the final, will be played on March 15, meanwhile the Eliminator 1 will be held on March 16.

The loser of the Qualifier and winner of Eliminator 1 will clash in the Eliminator 2 on March 17 for a spot in the final.

Playing XI
Peshawar Zalmi:

Saim Ayub, Mohammad Haris, Tom Kohler-Cadmore (c), Haseebullah Khan (wk), Bhanuka Rajapaksa, James Neesham, Aamer Jamal, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Khurram Shahzad, Salman Irshad, Sufiyan Muqeem

Islamabad United:

Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Alex Hales, Colin Munro, Sohaib Maqsood, Shadab Khan (c), Asif Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Hassan Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Hasan Ali, Fazalhaq Farooqi